Skip to content

The Weatherman Lies

January 11, 2011

Good news! My camera turned up. Bad news: it’s Monday. At least it’s pretty much over now. I had a busy day full of paperwork. My camera turned up after lunch when I remembered I left it in the trunk of my car when I was out for a run the other day.

Mid afternoon pick me up snack:

I checked weather.com on my phone before I packed my workout bag this morning and it said around 5 it would be 50 degrees and sunny. The weatherman lied. It was 35 and slightly drizzling. I wasn’t in the mood to bear the dark, cold, and rain in the shorts I packed, so I decided the treadmill it was!

With the cold weather I was craving soup. I made some Southwest Potato and Corn Soup.

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 fresh jalapeño, seeded and chopped
  • sea salt 
  • black pepper
  • 2 medium-large potatoes, chopped
  • 4 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 package frozen corn
  • 1 package frozen bell peppers
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoon dried cilantro 

Heat oil in a pot over medium heat. Cook onion, jalapeño, and bell pepper,  add salt and pepper, stirring occasionally, until onion is pale golden, about 8 minutes.

Add broth, and potatoes to onion/bell pepper mixture and cover pot, then bring to a boil over high heat. Stir in potatoes and corn.

Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are very tender.

Add lemon juice, cilantro, and salt to taste.

Let simmer for 30 minutes while you run on the treadmill. (OK, at least that’s what I did).

I had to cook in my workout clothes or it would have been game over for me. Is anyone else this way? I lose motivation quickly after I get home from work if I don’t change or get started right away.

I ran 3 very easy miles and they felt great. I’ve been having some sluggish runs lately, but today my legs felt so rested. I took the whole day off yesterday and it was just what I needed.

Hubby and I just enjoyed the Southwestern Potato and Corn Soup while watching the National Championship.

Looks like he’s fading fast… I may slip away for some hot chocolate, a bubble bath, and my copy of Born to Run.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Relaxing Friday |

Leave a Reply

