Skip to content

Eat More Get More

January 12, 2011

I’ve realized I have become a major creature of habit in the food department.

My daily eating schedule usually looks like this:

Water/Coffee- 6:30 A.M.

Breakfast- 8:00 A.M.

Snack- 10:00 A.M.

Lunch- Noon

Snack- 2:30 P.M.

Snack- 5:30 P.M.

Dinner- after working out (7-8:30 P.M.)

People often comment and joke that I’m so fit, but I am constantly eating. It is true-I am eating very often, but the quality of the food I’m eating is especially important.I make sure to fuel for workouts (If you don’t put gas in the car it won’t run). Instead of scarfing down a big McDonald’s breakfast, then having a Jack in the Box Jumbo Deal, I eat small portioned meals and snacks throughout the day equivalent to some fast food lunch specials. Eating more often has done wonders for my well-being.

Why is eating smaller meals at regular intervals throughout the day more beneficial for your body?

  • Consuming small meals at regular intervals during the day keeps your metabolism burning all day. The body gets more efficient at burning calories and absorbing nutrients the more often you eat, especially if you are eating whole and nutritious foods.
  • You are less likely to give into un-needed cravings if you’re eating at regular intervals. I’m not saying to never give into cravings, I give into my cravings daily ( I had a handful of chocolate covered pretzels for my afternoon snack). What I AM saying is that if you plan to eat more often throughout the day, you’re less likely to make a poor/junk food choice, or to over eat when you’ve passed the point of general hunger. When you wait too long to eat your blood sugar and insulin levels creep up, leaving you craving something sweet. Eating smaller meals will keep you from feeling ravenous and over eating.
  • You are likely to have more energy when you eat small meals during the day. A steady stream of vitamins and nutrients keep our bodies energized. This is especially important to get us through our long work days, and for fueling for exercise.

Treating your body well and understanding how it works and what makes you personally feel healthy and energized is very important. Sometimes you don’t even realize how great you could potentially feel.

Here are some of my eats from the rest of the day.

Mid Morning Snack: Luna Bar Lemonzest

Lunch: Salad with Spinach, Fresh Zuchinni, Feta Cheese and Morning Star Farms ‘Chicken Strips’

Dinner: Grilled Chicken Caeser Pizza

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

