Skip to content

Taking Me Time

January 12, 2011

Let’s face it, we keep ourselves way too busy between working, going to school, shuffling kids around, running errands, sitting in traffic, socializing online… you get the picture.

It is crucial that we take some time out of our days, whether it be 20 minutes or over an hour, to devote time to ourselves. If we don’t even have time to focus on ourselves then what is even the point of the daily hustle and bustle?

My preferred way of taking out time for myself is through exercising. Sometimes it’s running, yoga, cycling or a good strength training session. I find that taking out that time does wonders for my  brain function, body, and overall sanity. I am a better wife, employee, mother (the doggie kind of course) because I devote an amount of time every day to work on me.

Numerous people have told me, “I just don’t know how you have time to work out, I just don’t even have time.” Well, it’s up to us to create this time. Like today, I knew I had some errands and things around the house I’d like to accomplish when I got home from work so an evening workout would not be possible. I woke up about 30 minutes before normal to have a quick sweat session in my at home “gym”. I did a 15 minute abs routine work-out video and some runner specific stretches (more about this in a later post).

I got ready and off hubby and I went to work.

Because I’m marathon training I also wanted to fit a run into my schedule today. I utilized my lunch hour to go to a jogging trail nearby my office and jogged 3 miles in the quiet. It was nice to get away and decompress my mind mid-day. I feel so fortunate to have such a luxury nearby.

I stopped by Subway to grab a veggie sub for  lunch ( I need to go grocery shopping really bad):

Here are a few of the things I do to take time for myself:

  • Wake up 30 minutes earlier than normal to work out, meditate, or read in the morning.
  • Utilize a lunch break for me time. Don’t do any extra work or run any errands during lunch. Go for a walk, sit at Starbucks, read a book, listen to your iPod.
  • Turn off the usual talk radio or iPod on the way to work and just enjoy the silence.
  • DVR/ watch online a show I’ve been meaning to see.
  • Take a hot bubble bath with a glass of wine or hot tea.
  • Take a night away from text messaging, phone conversation and the internet: facebook, twitter, email, ahem…. blogging…. ahem. A lot of the time we spend on the internet is un productive, but we get consumed by it.
  • Window shop but don’t buy anything.
  • Take a walk with a loved one or alone.
  • Look for a jogging/walking trail nearby your house or office.

 

Tips for fitting in quick workouts when you feel you don’t have time:

  • Jillian Michaels 30 day Shred DVD (about $10 at walmart, target, and amazon.)
  • Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown (about $10)
  • Free work out videos at exercise tv.
  • Jackie Warner Circuit training DVD- she has options for workouts ranging from 15-40 minutes on the one DVD (about $10)
  • Free workout videos at Yogamazing
  • Google free work outs or free yoga and you will come up with many options.
  • A 20 minute walk or run.
  • 20 minute bike ride
  • If you can, walk to run errands, or walk to get lunch.

Seriously! Start taking more time for yourself and to enjoy the little things. Stress less. Enjoy more.

Leave a Reply

