Skip to content

What’s in a Race Packet

January 14, 2011

TGIF! I woke up early this morning to get 3 miles on the treadmill and some yoga in before work.

I enjoyed my usual coffee, and had an apple and 2 pieces of toast for breakfast.

Lunch- Spinach Pasta Salad with Black Olives and Balsamic Dressing

Afternoon Snack:

+

 

                =

 

 

I had dinner with two great friends tonight. We had fajitas and margaritas.

The food was delicious and we practically cleared our plates:

These two friends of mine told me a few months ago that they were interested in running a 5-k some day. They had already planned to come watch me in my first marathon, so I suggested they do the 5-k event that day. I offered to help them with their training and wrote each one out an individual 12 week plan to follow. I can’t wait to see how their experience goes, and I’m so excited they’ll be with me on race day!

Tonight one of them mentioned they got a letter in the mail explaining some details of the race, including when to pick up their race packets. Registering for a race, picking up a race packet, and showing up ready on race day is second nature to me, I forget I once started in their shoes and was nervous and anxious and full of questions about how everything works.

One of them asked me “What’s in a race packet?”

Race packets vary depending on the race put usually you will find:

  • T-shirt
  • Race Number Bib
  • Safety Pins
  • Chip Timer
  • Course Information
  • Flyers/Advertisements
  • Promotional items
  • Food samples
  • Other Samples

I hope everyone enjoyed their Friday and good-luck to those bloggers running this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

