Skip to content

How Do You Coffee?

January 22, 2011

For my birthday in November I got something I’ve been eyeballing for a long time. A Keurig! I love that little machine, it whips me up a cup of joe in no time at all. Turn it on, put your water in, let it heat, pop a k-cup in, press go, and you’ve got a delicious cup to enjoy. Heck, it’s so easy my hubby makes his own coffee now; and sometimes he even makes me a cup 🙂

Before my discovery of the Keurig my coffee press was my best friend. I still love, love, love my coffee press but it always gets passed up due to the convenience and low maintenance of the Keurig. The weekend is a perfect opportunity for me to enjoy a cup of rich, bold, and delicious coffee from my beloved pink press.

I didn’t realize it but some people, including some of my friends, don’t know what a coffee press is…… gasp… what?!

Let me introduce you.

Aint she a beauty?

How to make coffee with a coffee press:

First, boil your water, about 6 cups of water, just to be safe. Feel free to use your tea kettle, or even just a plain pot will suffice.

I actually prefer to grind my own beans when I brew coffee in the coffee press. It gives it a more bold and fresh taste.

Choose your coffee, servings will depend on what you  need. Typically our one press is good for me and hubby to each have about a cup and a half of coffee.

Grind it up, I ground about 5 tablespoons of beans:

 

Dump the coffee grounds into your press:

Just for fun add some cinnamon (optional of course):

Once your tea kettle is whistling, pour the water over your coffee grinds, stir, and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. This allows the oils in the coffee grounds to really stand out and provides for a rich, deep flavor. When you really bring out the flavor of the coffee it’s no longer necessary to mask your coffee with too much flavored creamer, or an abundance of sugar. It’s so much better to find a flavored coffee you enjoy, with a splash of half and half, instead of drinking artificial cream full of chemicals you wouldn’t find in your kitchen.

After you let the water soak up the flavors of the grounds. Press, press, press- we don’t want any grounds in our coffee.

Perfect! All the grounds are at the bottom and you’re ready to pour yourself a magnificent cup of coffee.

My family has always been a huge fan of the coffee press. In fact, the sound of coffee grinding in the morning was basically my alarm clock for getting up for school when I was younger. The coffee press is so convenient because you don’t even necessarily need electricity to enjoy a cup of coffee. We bring the coffee press every time we go camping. You simply boil the water over the campfire.

My coffee cup has me craving another trip to Mexico soon. Honeymoon round 2?- yes please! We will see…

What’s your favorite vacation spot?

Leave a Reply

