Skip to content

I’m Growing Up and Nuts

January 23, 2011

Ask anyone in my family, I’ve always hated nuts. Pecans, walnuts, almonds, cashews… NO THANK YOU!

Typical conversation:

Someone: Brittaney, would you like a brownie?

Me: Do they have nuts in them?

Someone: Yes.

Me: No Thanks.

Someone: But you can’t even taste them.

Me: Ick, no, you can always taste them, the texture of them is so gross, and even if I don’t eat one with nuts in it I can still till they were there.

I’d started thinking about my serious dislike for nuts. Sidenote: Why can’t you ever talk about liking to eat nuts, or not liking to eat nuts without people laughing? Come on people! It’s a food item, and yes, they’re called nuts. 

Anyways, back to thinking about how I just really hated nuts and how I’ve really probably missed out on the best desserts because of my refusal to eat them. For some reason, I’ve always had some kind of toleration for peanuts. Don’t get me wrong you’d never see me eating plain peanuts by themselves, but I could definitely eat my weight in snickers and I have a slight obsession with peanut butter. I’ve been known to eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich without the bread…. or the jelly.  Hey it’s a great pre-workout snack, and fewer dishes to clean.

I was meandering through the grocery store a couple of weeks ago and a bag of honey roasted almonds caught my eye, strange, I know. I’ve seen all the health benefits almonds have, and I’ve seen them just about on every healthy living blog on the planet, and I even drink almond milk, so something about them was intriguing me. I threw them in the baskets and went on my way.

When I got to the car I fumbled around the bags and grabbed the almonds to munch, on the way home. Did I mention I was really hungry on this grocery trip? I dove in head first and, OH EM GEE, they were soo… good!? I was eating almonds and I was enjoying them. Who was this person?

I went back the next day and grabbed another bag or five (they were the single size bags) and I’ve been eating almonds every day since. The other day I even grabbed a bag of trail mix with almond, cashews, and peanuts- and that was delicious too.

I’m not sure what has gotten into me. I think, at 25 years old, I’m finally growing up. I’m branching out and trying those things I used to turn my nose up to and I love it.

I told Hubby about my new love for nuts, and yes, he chuckled about it and threatened to expose my text message confessing my love of nuts on facebook. He agreed almonds are quite tasty and said he liked cinnamon sugar almonds. Hmm I thought, sounds like a challenge, I bet I could make my own.

Honey Cinnamon Sugar Almonds

1 cup slivered almonds

2 drizzles of honey

1 teaspoon of sugar

Sprinkles of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray pan with non stick spray and spread cup of almonds onto pan.

Drizzle with honey. Sprinkle on one teaspoon of sugar and desired amount of cinnamon.

Place in the oven for about 10 minutes. Check on the almonds 5 minutes in. Keep a very close eye on your almonds because they will have the tendency to burn very quickly, especially depending on the strength of your oven.  Take them out when they look slightly golden, and enjoy!

I let mine roast for the full 10 minutes and they were slightly over browned, but delicious nonetheless.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

