Skip to content

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

January 24, 2011

Good Evening. Thank goodness we made it through another, and might I mention very dreary, Monday. I’m currently vegging out and watching the Bachelor, and I’m about to do some runners yoga while I watch.  How about you?

I decided to try out a new recipe tonight. I’m looking forward to my taper and relaxing week this week because that means I’ll have time to try new recipes, and actually put some time and effort into my dinners. I really enjoy making something new and home cooked, but I tend to lean towards foods that I’m familiar with or are quick to prepare.

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Quesadillas

Adapted From Fresh 365

You need:

  • 1 large sweet potato, cut into cubes
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 table spoon pickled jalapenos
  • 14-oz can diced tomatoes
  • 15.5-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 large handful of cilantro
  • ½ red onion chopped
  • 8 whole-wheat tortillas
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sour Cream for Garnish

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a baking pan, spread out sweet potatoes. Bake for 20 minutes. Set aside potatoes aside and leave oven on.

In a large pan, heat olive oil, over medium heat, and add garlic, jalapenos, and red onion. Stir for 5 minutes, until garlic and onions begin to brown.

Add diced tomatoes, black beans, lime juice, salt, pepper and cilantro. Cook 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally, until well heated. Turn heat down and stir in sweet potato. Season with salt and pepper.

Arrange four tortillas on a baking pan and bake for 2 minutes.Remove from oven, and top each tortilla with mixture. Place another tortilla on top to make a quesadilla.

Bake in oven for 8-10 minutes. Serve with sour cream and enjoy!

I feel like I’m starting to get the hang of this cooking thing! Next I’m going to work on my presentation skills. I not only want to make yummy food but I want to make pretty food too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

