Skip to content

Marathon Playlist

January 28, 2011

I just checked my last training run off my calendar and it feel so good! It’s been 22 week of focusing on running, fueling, and punching out runs over 10 miles every. single. Sunday.

One of the things I really enjoyed about my marathon training was the music. In the first few weeks of training I was finding my long runs of 8-10 miles very difficult. My legs were tired, I was running out of breath and I was unmotivated. Somewhere, somehow, I had lost that pep in my step.

At the beginning of 2010 I ran a half marathon and shortly after, in May, I completed a triathlon. After that, I switched my focus to my wedding planning and preparation and was only running 2 to 5 miles here and there. I knew when I started marathon training I’d have to build my base mileage again, and it was tougher than expected.

About 3 weeks into my training, I realized it had been a long time since I had put any new tunes on my iPod. So many times I had googled running songs and came up with the same set of songs and I was getting bored with listening to the same thing. That week I decided to download some old songs even some goofy ones like spice girls, and (shamefully admitting) mmmbop. It was actually such a fun run. I had all these new songs that reminded me of when I was younger and got me pumped up and excited to run. The next week I did the same thing, and I started to get in the habit of every Sunday before my run composing a playlist of songs.

I used to be the type of iPod listener that would just put my songs on shuffle and I’d skip about 10 songs until I heard one I wanted to hear. Now, I’m very much a playlist person. I love to just turn my iPod on that playlist and listen in that order. It’s so much more freeing than feeling like I’m wrapped up in finding a good song the whole time I run. I swear I’ve done some races where there were zero songs I really wanted to hear the whole race.

I, of course, wanted to compose the perfect marathon playlist and kept saying I was going to months ago, but of course, it’s two days away and I’m just doing it now.

A lot of thought goes into creating a marathon playlist. Here’s my take on how to build the marathon playlist and a few songs I picked for that section of the race.

Mile 1-6: The first 10k. After marathon training you can run a 10k in your sleep but, these songs need to be uplifting and exciting to get you pumped up for the mileage you’re about to embark on. Be careful not to include anything too fast because you don’t want to burn out quickly.

  • Footloose by Kenny Loggins- I love me some 80’s and this song and beat put me in a good mood
  • I gotta Feeling by Black Eyed Peas- Cliche, maybe, but it pumps me up and gets me in the mental state that this is going to be a good run and a good day
  • Beautiful Day by U2- Again, makes me feel like it’s a wonderful day to be out for a run

Miles 6-13- This is where you set a steady pace and breathing and really get your rhythm going.

  • Send Me on My Way by Rusted Root- great beat, great feel good song
  • Unwritten by Natasha Beddingfield- awesome uplifting beat and easy listen
  • Love Story by Taylor Swift- Sorry to admit y’all but I’m a sucker for Taylor Swift songs

Miles 13-20: You’re halfway there and you need some reminding you’re in this for the long haul.

  • Not Afraid by Eminem- his latest CD has some great running tunes
  • We Are Who We Are by Kesha- you’re making fun of me now, but I love the beats to Kesha’s songs and she put in the mood to dance run
  • Shine by Newsboys- Reminds you to keep your head up and be strong

20-25: For most training plans this is unchartered territory ( I’ve only done 22, and very slow). I’ve heard this is where the race gets tough and many runner hit the wall. You need to play some somes that remind you how bad ass you are for what you’re doing.

  • Till I Collapse by Eminem- nothings going to stop you
  • Remember the Name by Fort Minor- best motivational song ever
  • How Far We’ve Come by Matchbox Twenty- I love the beat of this song it always gets me to want to pick up the pace

26-26.2: Maybe you want an epic song to remind you of your finish, maybe you need a last push. Whatever it is pick something grand to remind you of what you just accomplished.

My last song is Homecoming by Green Day. I chose this song because it’s almost 10 minutes long, and if I hear this song come on and I’m that close to the finish line it will feel great to know that I have only one song left to go. I really enjoy the song because it changes beats several times and it feels like 3 songs in 1.

I hope you enjoy some of my song picks. I’d love to hear any suggestions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

