Skip to content

Excited

January 29, 2011

Guess what I did today?!

I picked up my packet for the Marathon! The expo was really nice, so many vendors, free food, very well-organized, and so much fun. I bought a spi belt which I am definitely sporting tomorrow. I’d been worried about how I was going to carry my clif shots.

Funny story, on the way in to the expo we saw a guy walking his dog and my friend thought he looked familiar. She kept staring at him and determined he looked like Chris Johnson, baseball player for the Houston Astros. We stared at him forever and no one would go up and talk to him so finally I went up to him and asked him if that’s who he was. My friend Tifani was so excited and she determined it was definitely a good omen for the whole weekend.

 

I made a delicious breakfast this morning that I, unfortunately, had to eat way too fast because I needed to meet up with my friends to go to the expo.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

Yields 2-3 servings

  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour  
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 sweet potato peeled, cooked, and mashed

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Cook on medium high until both sides are dark golden brown.

Enjoy!

I’m getting really excited about the race, but I have to admit I am a little worried. In the weather forecast there is a 100% chance of rain at the start line. I got an email stating that if conditions are too bad, at the start of the race they will postpone the start, and if lightning occurs within a 10 mile radius of the course after the race has started, runners will be asked to vacate the course. I guess we will see how it goes. I’m going to keep a positive attitude and still gear my mind up to run 26.2 miles tomorrow, rain or shine.

Hubby and I are about to head out to eat some carbs for lunch and swing by the mall. Happy Saturday.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

