Skip to content

Out of Energy

February 3, 2011

It seems I’ve been pretty much MIA this week. To tell you the truth, I’m having trouble finding the energy to do anything. When I’ve gotten home from work the last 3 nights I haven’t wanted anything to do with my computer, kitchen, or treadmill. The only things I’ve wanted to see are my TV, my couch and my bed.

All the excitement and lack of sleep from the marathon weekend, not to mention actually running 26.2 miles, has my body craving some extra rest. We’ve also been dealing with the very cold weather (for Texas) which has me feeling a little under the weather.

Yesterday, I wanted to get my legs moving and loosened up so I ran/walked 1 mile on my treadmill and road my indoor trainer for 20 minutes very lightly. It felt good on my legs and I’m definitely thinking I’m going to be ready to resume normal running quickly. I also did a 15 minute upper body dumbbell circuit (courtesy of Jackie Warner)

After that I cooked dinner and watched some TV. I was zonked and ready to go to bed around 9pm. I’ve been in bed really early so far this week.

A few months ago, I went into a period of time like this where I just had no energy at all. No matter how much sleep I got I was just lethargic. I’m kind of feeling that way now and I hope I can kick it soon.  My plans to kick-start my energy:

  • Get 7-8 hours of sleep a night
  • Exercise 30-60 minutes a day
  • Take vitamins (Emergen-c, B complex, and especially B12)

  • Drink at least 70 oz. of water

  • Eat fruits and vegetables

  • Take apple cider vinegar (to prevent getting sick)

These are all things I should and try to do on a regular basis but sometimes life stresses just get in the way and I don’t get enough sleep, or I forget to take my vitamins. It’s now when I’m feeling a lack of energy that I really must focus on nurturing my body.

After work I went to spin class, it was just what I needed. Getting my endorphins going gave me more energy when I got home.

Like my new shirt? I thought the finisher shirts were so nice. They are underarmor and they are the same material, just a different cut, of my favorite running shirts.

Aftera  much needed spin class, I came home and made dinner. Now, I’m enjoying some time with the hubby and debating some hot chocolate, it’s chilly out there.

Good night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

