Skip to content

An Interesting Day

February 4, 2011

My Friday started with this.

It was an interesting day to say the least.  A large storm of snow/rain came across Texas last night, and we Texans don’t know how to handle snow and ice very well. All the schools were cancelled in advance, and most people were missing work. I woke up this morning and turned the news on and it look bad, car wrecks everywhere, iced over bridges, they were warning everyone to not get out on the roads. I got a call not to go to work until later in the morning.  Pancakes? Yes, please!

Brown Sugar Pancakes for One:

5 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tbsp butter
¾ cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
dash salt
2 tablespoon egg white
½ cup almond milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

In a small bowl heat 4 tablespoons of brown sugar and butter in microwave until just melted. In a large bowl, add all other ingredients. Once, brown sugar mixture is slightly cooled add to large bowl. Cook pancakes on medium heat until golden brown. For topping, melt 1 tablespoon brown sugar with 2 tablespoons of maple syrup. Enjoy!

I told myself I’d be productive since I wasn’t at work but somehow I ended up cuddling with this:

I ended up going into work from 12-4. Since I was out early I thought I’d take the opportunity to experience what all you northerners deal with, as far as running in cold temperatures. I ventured out for a run in the 28-but-felt-like-19- degrees.

I made sure my legs were going to stay warm.

I bundled up my ears.

(I spy a snuggler) and I was off!

I ran without my Garmin because I wanted to feel no pressure to go a certain speed. I covered about 3.5 miles. The cold wasn’t so bad; it actually ended up being a beautiful sunny day.

Lucky for me, Hubby got home early. So we had a long evening ahead. I went to the grocery store and picked up 2 California Pizza Kitchen frozen pizzas, some arugula for salad, and a bottle of wine so we could have a relaxing night of Netflix.

 

Arugula salad with bacon bits and croutons (for hubby) with light honey mustard, and 2 slices of garlic chicken pizza.

Today has been such a long day, almost like two days in one, I see myself headed to bed early. Night night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

