Skip to content

A Free Gym

February 6, 2011

After I enjoyed some Banana Chocolate Chip Baked Oatmeal I headed to the park for a run. It was a beautiful day once again, and I took full advantage. I completed slightly over 6.5 miles @ an 8:28 pace. My legs are feeling great post marathon and I can’t wait to get back to some faster shorter runs.

Fit Chick Britt Fitness Tip: I love working out at the park! It’s like a free gym. Most parks have jogging paths, or dirt trails where you can bike, walk, hike, or run. Don’t limit yourself to the trails though, utilize the resources at the park to get in a total body toning session. Children’s playgrounds are great for pull-ups and upper body strength moves, or even use the park bench to get in a quick toning circuit.

After my run I completed a 15 minute toning and stretching session.

Circuit 1: Repeat 3 times

One leg Park Bench Squats:

Stand with your feet about two feet from the bench place your right foot forward and the toe of the left foot on the bench for support. Squat down on your right leg until your thigh parallel with the floor. Keep your back straight. Do ten reps and repeat on the other side.

Park Bench Tricep dips:

Place your hands in the middle of the bench, arms shoulder length apart. Keep your legs straight on the ground in front of you. Lower your body towards the ground, allowing your elbows to bend to 90 degrees. Straighten your elbows and return to the starting position. Do 10 reps.

 

Circuit 2: Repeat 3 times

Park Bench Step Ups:

Stand facing the bench. Place your right foot on the bench and step up, extending your right leg fully. Do 10 repetitions and then repeat with the left leg.

Park Bench Push Ups:

Place hands on bench slightly wider than shoulder width. Walk feet back until you are in an extended plank position. Lower body towards bench until elbows are bent to 90 degrees,then  extends arms back up to starting position to complete one rep. Repeat 10 times.

Stretch:

Stretch Quads

Stretch Calf Muscles and Hip Flexors

 

There you go! You just completed a quick and easy park bench circuit toning your triceps, shoulders, chest, hamstrings, quads, glutes, and abs. Pair with some cardio running or walking at the park and you’re golden 🙂

I encourage you to take some time to check out some local parks in your area!

After my park work out session I enjoyed a strawberry-banana smoothie.

½ cup light vanilla yogurt

1 medium banana

½ cup frozen strawberries

¾ cup almond milk

Superbowl Fit Chick Eats Today:

I snacked on some vegetables and cheese/crackers until I ate a meal:

A bunless burger, on the side- Handful of cherry tomatoes, and a handful of grapes

One Scoop of Bluebell Vanilla Ice cream

I hope you survived the Superbowl schmorgasboard today, I think I made out ok. It’s back to the work grind tomorrow; I hope you enjoyed your weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

