Skip to content

Warm Up With Some Soup

February 9, 2011

Phew! It’s cold out there. This Texas girl is not used to sub-freezing temps. You know what cold weather calls for?

Footsie Pajama’s!

Oh yeah…. And soup. This was supposed to be about soup.

This soup is so hearty, scrumptious, and EASY.

Last week I made a crock pot full of pinto beans. I put the leftovers in a mason jar to freeze, and I was ready to enjoy them again tonight.

You need:

  • 1 can of pinto beans
  • ½ cup salsa
  • ¼ cup chicken broth
  • Handful of cilantro

Heat a pot on the stove to medium heat. In a blender, combine beans, salsa, chicken broth, cilantro and puree. Once blended, transfer to pot on the stove, allow to cook on med-high heat for 5 minutes. Stir often. Reduce heat to low and allow soup to thicken.  Garnish with sour cream, avocado slices, or cheese.

Most Importantly, Enjoy!

 

So, how was your hump day?

Mine started off excellent with a FitChickBritt 15-minute abs circuit. Don’t worry I’m going to share with you very soon. A quick workout in the morning is a great start to my day. It’s impact enough to wake me up, but not so intense I feel the energy being sucked out of me by lunch time.

I was busy at work from 8-5.

Here’s what I packed in my lunch sack today:

Snacks:

I had the yogi tea and vitamins that I discussed yesterday.

Lunch:

I tried popchips for the first time today. You may have seen these floating around the grocery store recently. They’re potato chips that aren’t fried, or baked. They’re popped! – With steam and pressure. They were pretty good and only 100 calories. Not bad at all for chips.

Breakfast was 1/3 cup oatmeal, 1 T raisins, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I put it in a Ziploc so I could prepare it at work. Move over Quaker Oats!

I was having an internal battle with myself all day at work. Spin or treadmill workout? Spin or treadmill workout? Word on the street was that there would be ice on the roads on the way home, and I didn’t want to get iced in at the gym. I’m so over this cold; I’m ready for tank top season.

By the time I got off work the rain had cleared so I headed to spin class. Before class I ran 1 mile on the treadmill, and then class was awesome as always. I ❤ spin, so much.

Fit Chick Britt Fitness Tip: If you have access to a spin class, I highly suggest it! Spin is probably the best cardio class in the gym. You can burn more calories in an hour of spin class than you can in an hour of jogging. It will have your heart rate going, and you burning extra calories. Plus, the resistance from the bike is great for tonight those legs and glutes. Hello bikini season!

When I got home I started the soup and munched on some blue corn tortilla chips.

I’ve got some things coming up you definitely don’t want to miss out on: A rockin’ treadmill workout, a post that is way overdue, and some sweet recipes.

Stay tuned!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 11:15 AM

    yay 🙂 great post and that soup looks like something i may make today since it’s -4 out! brrr! stay warm girl!

Trackbacks

  1. Making the Treadmill Fun Again |

Leave a Reply

