Skip to content

Stabilizing Breakfast

February 12, 2011

If you haven’t had a chance yet, check out my post about my first marathon.

Oh boy. Yesterday was one of those days where I ate bad not as good as I would have liked. I had a small breakfast of ¼ cup oatmeal ½ banana and ½ of the bottom of a banana cupcake from the healthy valentine’s day treats. Check them out.

Like I mentioned before, we had a lunch birthday to celebrate and enjoyed Frito pie and cheesecake at the office. I tried to eat a small portion of both but I still found it way too heavy for lunch, and way out of my norm. We had also made plans early in the week to celebrate my friend’s birthday last night.  We ate at a Mexican restaurant I had a few chips, a margarita, and some Baja fish tacos.

After a day of not eating like my normal self and not eating as well as I’d like, it’s no sweat! There is no sense in focusing on it, and no sense in making it an excuse to continue foul eating patterns. This morning I was really craving a stabilizing breakfast full of nutritional value.

1 slice of whole wheat toast grilled with an egg in the center

1 Blood-Orange and Banana Green Monster

1 cup of coffee with 1T half and half and ½ packet of stevia in the raw

Egg in the Hole

With a cookie cutter, cut out a hole in the center of a piece of lightly buttered toast. Place toast on pan set at medium-high heat. Crack an egg into the hole of the bread. Once egg white begins to form, flip toast on the other side until cooked through. You can cook the egg all the way through or you can leave the yolk running, depends on your preference.

Blood Orange and Banana Green Monster

This was a fabulous green monster! I will definitely be making it again.

1 whole blood orange

½ a medium banana

1.5 cups of spinach

½ cup almond milk

¼ cup light orange juice

Handful of ice

Blend until all ice junks are gone.

Let’s talk about breakfast…

First things first, eat breakfast! Breakfast is absolutely important for setting the tone for a great day. Eating breakfast daily improves your metabolism, and helps you function better at work. If your goal is to lose weight don’t skimp out on or completely skip breakfast.

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip- In order to start your day off nutritionally-well breakfast should be stabilizing. Breakfast should try to contain a mix of these things:

Fruits or vegetables: Fruits and vegetables contain nutrients and vitamins that give us energy (very important at the start of our day). You can get your fruits in by adding them to smoothies, oatmeal, or eating them whole. Vegetables can be served alongside eggs, with toast, or in smoothies.

Low in added sugar: Some cereals, prepackaged oatmeal, coffees, and breakfast pastries contain too much sugar. These breakfast options are okay to enjoy on occasion, but they do not qualify as an optimal breakfast. To sweeten an optimal breakfast I would use agave, stevia, honey, or brown sugar.

Whole grains: When grains are refined their nutritional content is depleted. Choosing whole grains allows for your body to get the benefits of the nutrients, fiber, and antioxidants whole grains have to offer.  You can get a serving of whole grains for breakfast by choosing wheat bread, whole grain hot and cold cereals, or whole grain pancakes.

Protein: Protein helps fill you up for longer periods of time which is a very important aspect of breakfast. Proteins you could add to breakfast can be found in nuts, eggs, meat (turkey, ham, chicken), yogurt, and cheese.

Try incorporating at least 3 out of 4, if not all, of these things at every breakfast. After all, you know what they say “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirelle permalink
    February 12, 2011 5:17 PM

    I’ll have to try the monster…I hadn’t thought of having a smoothie on the side of something else…I know I couldn’t have just a smoothie and last through lunch! You forgot fat in your breakfast list 🙂

    • February 12, 2011 9:28 PM

      Yeah I thought about that but most the proteins I listed contain fats!

      • February 14, 2011 5:39 PM

        I put spinach in my smoothies too! When you’re saying 1 1/2 cups, do you use fresh spinach or frozen spinach (I usually use frozen, thats why I ask)! 🙂 Love your blog!

      • February 14, 2011 6:26 PM

        Thanks Rachael! I always use fresh. I’ve never tried frozen. I usually just eyeball it too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Perfect Saturday |
  2. Homemade “Starbucks”: Banana Mocha Frappuccino |

Leave a Reply

