Skip to content

Homemade “Starbucks”: Banana Mocha Frappuccino

February 15, 2011

Anyone else have trouble rolling out of bed this morning after their Valentine’s Day festivities?

Once  I could finally peek at least one eye open I enjoyed another  stabilizing breakfast.

Let’s see. Does it contain all the important components of a fully nutritional breakfast?

Whole grains?- Check! Whole grain Oats.

Fruits and/or vegetables?- Check! Blueberries

Low in added sugars?- Check! Sweetened with 1 T brown sugar

Contains protein/healthy fats?- Check! Topped with slivered almonds

I think the other day I promised I’d share my recipe for the homemade “Starbucks” I enjoyed during my Saturday pedicure.

First of all, I love Starbucks. I’m probably first in line when they announce the Pumpkin Spice Latte or the Peppermint Mocha is back in season. I love the aromas, the music, and the friendly baristas you get as soon as you walk in the door. Unfortunately, Starbucks doesn’t like my pocketbook cute pink coin purse too much, and most drinks aren’t very calorie friendly. So, for me, Starbucks is just an occasional treat maybe once a month or so.

I really love coffee and good coffee can come from home too. I enjoy having a Keurig, adore my pink coffee press, and even  make my own frappuccinos.

Banana Mocha Frappuccino

  • 1 T sugar
  • 1-2 T instant coffee
  • 2 t unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • handful of ice

Place all ingredients in blender, adding dry ingredients last. Blend until no ice chunks remain.

I even have this handy dandy venti sized plastic starbucks cup that makes my homemade Starbucks feel so authentic.

 Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Try making your own frozen coffee and smoothies at home. At home, you get to control exactly what ingredients you’re putting into your beverage and that’s a good feeling. My venti frappuccino only had 165 calories and was just as delicious as the over 330-calorie venti’s you’d find at Starbucks.

Enjoy some homemade Starbucks and your cute [insert favorite color here] coin purse will thank you too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 3:34 PM

    Ah, you love starbucks, we could so be friends. I love starbucks too. Iced green tea is my lifeline. 🙂
    …. and YUM! The Banana Mocha Frappuccino sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

