Skip to content

Every Excuse in the Book

February 16, 2011

 Usually I”m rip-roaring and ready to hit the gym after work. The clock hits 5:00 and I’m in my gym clothes and running out the door. Today was not like that. For whatever reason I was just not in the mood or not as excited to go to the gym. It’s so strange that yesterday I could have a killer treadmill interval workout with a thorough leg workout and today my attitude was totally out of it.

I swear I thought of every excuse in the book. “I’m too tired; my legs are too sore from yesterday’s workout; I need to clean the house; I didn’t plan what I was making for dinner; I forgot my sports bra; I don’t have a hair tie; I don’t have enough time to make it to the gym before spin class starts.” You get the picture. If there was an excuse I thought of it.

But…. Begrudgingly from 6 to 7 o’clock I was at the gym sweatin’ it up in spin class.

Source

So how do you get yourself to the gym on days when you just.don’t. feel like it?

FitChickBritt Fitness Tips for getting your butt in the gym:

 

Play your own devil’s advocate. I am good at this one because I am so so indecisive. I can think of every excuse in the book, but I can also remind myself why those excuses aren’t really valid. Sore from yesterday’s workout? A good spin will be great for sore legs. No sports bra? Eh. It’s not like I’m running I’ll manage with my regular bra. Won’t make it to spin class in time? The gym still has stationary bikes and treadmills.

Think of your long-term goals. Are you training for a race? Trying to lose weight? Wanting more energy? Visualize yourself when you’ve finally met your goals and remind yourself why you’re wanting to be at the gym in the first place.

Reward yourself. You can’t have that beloved glass of wine or piece of chocolate for dessert unless you make it to the gym. Rewards don’t have to be about food either; reward yourself with your favorite TV show or 30 minutes of a good book.

Write a workout schedule. If  your workout schedule is written on paper you’re more likely to not skip a workout. You’ll feel great when you can check the run or spin class off the weekly schedule. You can always alter the schedule and switch things around if needed during the week.

Get a workout buddy. If your friend is going to be waiting for you at the gym you’re less likely to skip out. It’s great to have someone else that’s holding you accountable.

Find a class at the gym you like. If you go to the gym aimlessly your workout is more likely to be aimless. If you have a purpose for heading to the gym, like spin class, the instructor and the classmates can help push you to have an efficient workout. You’re more likely to want to come back if you enjoy a certain class.

Pack your workout clothes. Working out after work? Pack your clothes and take them with you to work. If you went through all the trouble of getting them together you’re more likely to feel obligated to use them. Working out in the morning? Get your clothes set out the night before. It will make the task of getting up early seem less daunting. Sometimes I’ll even sleep in some or all of what I was planning to workout in. That way I just have to jump out of bed and put my tennis shoes on.

Remember. Remember how great you felt after your last workout? After a workout your endorphins are flowing and you feel on top of the world. On the way back from the gym I guarantee you’re never regretting the decision you made to go to the gym. Think about how great you know you’re gonna feel when you get finished.

I hope you’ll follow these tips if you feel you’re in a rut before your workout. I sure know I felt 10 times better and was very satisfied when I finished tonight’s spin class.

So how was your Wednesday? We’re more than halfway to the weekend. That’s never a bad thing.

Today Eats:

Breakfast:

Snacks:

I got this fiber one bar for free in my marathon race packet. It tasted good but too much fiber for my tummy!

FitChickBritt Eat Well Tip: Popcorn is such an excellent snack for the office. It’s perfect for afternoon munching, and you can let the bag linger on your desk for a while. I choose 100 calorie smart pop individual bags. It’s a very big serving for one and rather tasty.

Lunch: Salad with mandarin oranges, pineapple, and raisins. Served with Annie’s Goddess dressing. I loved this salad. I will definitely be repeating it.

Dinner: Turkey and Cilantro patties served with mashed red potatoes and green beans. I love red potatoes!

What’d you eat today? Anything new or interesting?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 10:18 PM

    I’m making beef bourguignon – a new recipe I created. It’s still cooking and here it is 10:17pm. It looks like it will have to be tomorrow’s dinner…meals like this should be made on the weekend when I have 3 1/2 hours to prep and cook my meals. =/ It better taste good, that’s all I’m sayin’.

    I heart snack packs of popcorn!

  2. February 16, 2011 10:54 PM

    Lol, that sounds delish!

  3. February 17, 2011 9:16 AM

    i have days like that too… and i definitely have slept in my gym clothes before, lol. perfect way to make yourself get up and go in the morning!

Leave a Reply

