Skip to content

The (Hated?) Bun

February 17, 2011

At the request of a friend here is the recipe for the Cilantro Turkey Burgers I made last night.

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey (I used Jennie-O 90/10)
  • 1 egg

The rest is all approximate and I eye-balled.

  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves
  • 1 t ground oregano
  • 1 t garlic salt
  • 1 t pepper
  • 2 T bread crumbs (I used Italian flavor)

Set oven to broil. Toss all ingredients together in a bowl. Separate meat into four same-size patties. Broil for 7 minutes on each side. These would also be great on the grill.

Super simple. Because, who doesn’t like simplicity?

So what’s on the agenda for Thursday?

Coffee and breakfast were a must of course.

Tropical Green Monster

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup mandarin oranges
  • 1/4 cup pineapple
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 handful of ice

This green monster had me wishing I was sipping it on the beach in the Bahamas. Sigh.

In other news: I’m totally rockin’ the bun today. Hubby just looooves the bun in the hair 🙂 (this is sarcasm at it’s finest). Have you ever seen that episode of King of Queens where Doug hates Carrie’s bun? It’s so funny. Love that show. That’s basically how hubby has always felt about buns. I could feel his eyes nearly burning my bun off this morning. Why don’t men like buns?

 

 

What do you think? Do you like buns?

They’re not my ideal style, but they’re so low maintenance that I have to say I kind of like them.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 9:12 AM

    haha! I love buns, they’re too easy not to love! But I agree, they aren’t my favorite hairstyle… what girl doesn’t love low maintenance though?!

  2. February 17, 2011 10:16 AM

    I seriously love the “bun”. My husband hates it too. I think its cute, classic and very chic.

    What is wrong with these guys?

  3. February 17, 2011 12:25 PM

    Oh I am the Bun Queen! My fiance loves my hair down, but he doesn’t know how long the process is to have my hair down and looking decent. Boys!

  4. Lori permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:08 PM

    I like big buns and I cannot lie… Haha!

    I saw my coffee mug I got you 😉

  5. February 17, 2011 9:19 PM

    I DO like buns. I think they can look cute when done all casual. But yeah, men don’t like them. Blech. What do they know? :o)
    And a green monster – I finally got on board. And was shocked that I couldn’t taste the spinach. I’m officially a convert to the deliciousness!

  6. February 20, 2011 2:17 PM

    I’m currently sporting a bun, so i give it a big thumbs up! Congrats on placing third in your 5k! I used to live in TX and there was a Chick-Fil-A right by my house. I’m going to follow you to be inspired by your continued training!

Leave a Reply

