Skip to content

Chick-fil-a 5k Race Recap

February 20, 2011

The first thing that came out of my hubby’s mouth before I was even fully awake this morning was, “Are you ready to win free Chick-fil-a for a year!?” The prize for the first place overall female and male was free Chick-fil-a for A YEAR. Pretty sweet deal, huh? Counterproductive? Maybe.

The race didn’t start until 8 a.m. and it was literally 5 minutes away from my house, so I woke up at my usual time around 6:15, and had some coffee.

Check out the cute race packets- so unique!

I decided to try something new this morning, usually if I’m running a 5k I’ll just eat a banana or something small in the morning. If I’m doing a longer run I will have a slice of PB toast with the banana. This morning I decided to have a basic green monster, and it worked out really well!

Sidenote: How do some girls manage to look so darn cute on race day. This is what I look like, no make-up, hair looks like I just rolled out of bed, sleepy eyes, and whatever running clothes I decided to throw on that morning. If I’m gonna keep sharing pictures with you I’m gonna have to work on this!

When I got to the race I spotted fellow blogger Rachael and her mom. Rachael, we should have gotten a picture together! It was nice to catch up with her, we actually went to highschool together.

After the cute Kid’s 1k “race with the cows” the 5k’ers were off. I started at the front of the pack (can’t stand weaving through people) and was off. For about 1/3 of a mile I was the first female 🙂 Two females passed me and I knew they were faster than me (sorry hubby no free Chick-fil-a for a year). I started out slightly too fast, I kept looking down at my garmin and it was reading sub 7 minute paces. I slowed down a bit and locked into a slightly below 7:30 pace. The race went by so fast and I was able to keep the same pace the whole way throughout. I really liked the course because it went through the neighborhood I did most of my marathon training long runs in. It was nice to run a race on really familiar territory.

I’m pleased to say that not one other female passed me after the first 2 so I was the 3rd place female overall. I was even more pleased to find out I had gotten 1st place out of the females 20-29 age group. That means, I get to check off one of my “Goals” today. Wahoo! and I got a nifty medal and some prizes.

After the race I had the pleasure of meeting 3 other fellow bloggers- Rachel, Lauren at Team Giles (She PR’ed- you go girl) and Kim at To Dream the Kim-Possible Dream (and she ran the whole thing- awesome!!). They were incredibly friendly, and it was so nice to meet some women with the same interests as me. We chatted about running, triathlons, and peanut butter for a while. Hopefully I’ll be seeing them again!

Picture taken from Lauren

My official time was 23:16. It wasn’t a PR but it was the 2nd fastest 5k I’d ever run. I’m feeling a PR coming really soon!

Garmin Stats:

Mile 1: 7:14

Mile 2: 7:24

Mile 3: 7:29

Last .18: 1:11 (6:41 pace)

I came home feeling great and completed an awesome 25-minute upperbody strength circuit.

Then I rewarded myself with a PB&J.

Hope you had an awesome Saturday!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 10:57 AM

    yay! so fun meeting you! can’t even imagine what it must feel like to win your division! soooo awesome! still think it’s really cool you came in 3rd for the girls, too, by the way! =)

    think about doing that Tomball Bunny Run 5K with us in April – the little local races are so fun! =)

    • February 20, 2011 3:08 PM

      I will definitely think about doing the Bunny Run! I Love the local too, get to sleep in a bit 🙂

  2. February 20, 2011 11:32 AM

    Dang girl – you faaaaaast! Congratulations on an amazing race, a great time and winning your age group. Woo hoo!!! Way to go!

  3. Ligia permalink
    February 20, 2011 4:45 PM

    Awesome job Britt! I hope one day I can reach my 5K goal! And I think not winning free Chick-Fil-A for a year is a blessing in disguise!

  4. February 21, 2011 2:07 PM

    I am just in love with your BLOG! Everything you post is so inspiring, and yet, you make it seem so easy! My next grocery stop, Im going to get all of the ingredients for the green monster drink! Looks DELISH! (is it juiced or blended?) Thanks for sharing all of your great tips and pictures girl!!!

    • February 21, 2011 3:32 PM

      Thanks Donna! It’s blended. Just throw it all in and blend until the ice is smooth. Enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. A Productive Weekend |
  2. My Weekend « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

