Skip to content

Something Green

February 20, 2011

Number of vegetables I consumed yesterday = 0

Whoops! I woke up this morning wanting something green in my life. What’s better for breakfast than a good old green monster?

Spinach is exceptionally good for you! It’s a wonderful source of many nutrients including iron, calcium, potassium, vitamins A, K, B, and C- just to name a few. You can really add spinach to any kind of smoothie, strawberry-banana, chocolate, pumpkin, cherry, blueberry. Get creative! I find it’s good with just about anything.

This morning my smoothie contained:

-2 cups of spinach

-1 medium banana

-3/4 cup almond milk

-1 Tbs of instant coffee

-1 tsp cinnamon

Random facts:

  • When I was little I was obsessed with the color green. For my 5th birthday I told my mom I wanted an all green birthday party. It looked like St. Patrick’s Day exploded all over our house. I even requested a green entrée, pea salad. Not really sure what the guests thought of that…
  • My eyes are hazel; The green in them really sticks out when I’m sick, sad, if I’ve cried, when I wake up, in the sun, and if I’ve sat in the dark for a long time.
  • My MIL used to make green smoothies years ago before I started living healthfully and I thought it was disgusting. Hey, don’t knock it till you try it!
  • I told my dad when I was 16 I wanted a jungle green convertible for my birthday (yeah, that didn’t happen… maybe one day?)

I would have peed my pants if this car showed up in my driveway!

You know, I’m really not sure when my love of obsession with green ended and my love of pink began…

Did you have a favorite color when you were little, is it still the same?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 11, 2011 6:31 PM

    Hey that’s my car! haha! Would it be a GT? Fast! Your grandmother had a mustang convertible! That is a nice color.

  2. October 12, 2011 10:34 PM

    I used to be obsessed with red… which has morphed into pink. My parents had to buy me a boys bike when I was little because the girls one only came in pink and purple and I insisted on red. It made it nice when my brother came around and he had a hand me down bike. I love putting instant espresso into smoothies!

  3. October 16, 2011 4:37 PM

    Amusingly enough, my childhood obsession was pink, and now I feel like something is missing if I don’t have green somewhere. Looks like we switched. : )

    Incidentally, do you have a good pumpkin smoothie recipe? I love pumpkin and I’ve been craving one for weeks while I diligently avoid the pumpkin spice lattes and pumpkin pie blizzards in the drive-through line.

Leave a Reply

