Skip to content

The Big Debate

February 20, 2011

Hello fellow blends (blog-friends) and blog-readers! How is your weekend treating you so far?

Yesterday after the 5k I was debating if I wanted to have a productive day of house cleaning or if I wanted to go shopping. I bet you’ll never guess what won…

I got some really cute loot, a George Foreman Grill, and some placemats.

I’ve been wanting a George Foreman for a while and lucky for us we still have some Bed Bath and Beyond Gift Cards from the wedding to use. There’s a few more gadgets I’ve got my eye on that might be popping up soon 🙂

I’ve been avoiding the blog a little bit this weekend because I’ve been a little bummed about something, and I’ve been debating if I wanted to share it with you guys or not but I figure I might as well.

After the 5k yesterday I felt great but after I got home I thought my knee felt a little funny, it didn’t really hurt just a little bit of tension. I didn’t think much of it but when I was out shopping I crouched down to look at something on the bottom shelf and I got this shooting pain on the inside of my left knee; it hurt so bad I could barely stand back up. For the rest of the day I could not put any pressure on my leg while bending it (can’t squat or crouch). I was ok to walk and I could bend it just fine if I wasn’t standing on it. This morning I woke up and it was pretty swollen and felt kind of as if it had fluid in it. It is bending better but it feels very very tight.

I’ve been debating if I wanted to share this with y’all or not because I have trouble admitting to injury. It seems that if you admit it, it becomes more real and then you’re forced to take a little fitness break which I HATE doing. I also sometimes think that people jump to the conclusion that they’re injured too fast, or are always thinking that they’re injured when it might just be routine soreness. I feel like sometimes people use “injury” as an excuse not to train enough or a crutch not to try hard. I know it can be annoying to hear about someone that’s always injured. Don’t get me wrong, injury is a real thing and with running comes injury which is why I decided I needed to share it. If you’re going to be a runner or an athlete chances are you will face some kind of injury.

 I’ve been exceptionally fortunate in the injury department during my running career. I’ve battled a few shin splints here and there when I first started, and a little hip pain towards the end of marathon training, but nothing major. If I ever feel any kind of pain I’ll usually a. pretend it didn’t happen and run through it or b. take a day or two off until I am feeling back to normal. But I know my body and this is a different kind of pain I started experiencing yesterday and I know I need to lay off the running or any activity that involves knee strength the next week. If it doesn’t get better by then I will go see a Dr.

I’ve been speculating what could have caused this:

  • Not taking enough time to recover after the marathon; it can take your muscles over a month to recover from that many miles and I may have jumped into the speed work too fast.
  • I might have twisted it or overused it at the 5k  yesterday
  • Could have been unrelated to running, and I could have twisted it when I was shopping and I crouched down yesterday
  • I’ve had a lot of tension in my hip/IT-band area from marathon and marathon training and I may be over compensating and overworked my knee

Regardless of the reason I’m going to:

  • Rest
  • Ice
  • Stretch and foam roll
  • Only do low impact exercise for the next week
  • Get a sports massage (hopefully)
  • Wear a supporting knee brace

I’ve been really bummed and worried about it since yesterday but instead of focusing on what I can’t do fitness wise I’m going to focus on what I can do. I’m going to take it as an opportunity to show you what activities you can do if you have knee problems or injuries. I definitely see some swimming, a lot of upper body strength training, and maybe some very low impact biking or elliptical in my future; all depending on how I feel.

Hubby took me to breakfast this morning since I wasn’t feeling up to cooking. We went to Denny’s. I’ll tell you, I used to be an IHOP girl, but now that Denny’s has a healthy grand slam, I am all about Denny’s. This is two whole-wheat blueberry pancakes (they were actually real fresh blueberries), two egg whites, two slices of turkey bacon, and a fresh fruit cup. It was delicious.

After breakfast we did some meal planning, grocery shopping, and errand running.

Unfortunately, there’s a big pile of laundry calling my name that I put off for my shopping trip yesterday. I hope you’re having a fabulous weekend. Does everyone have the day off tomorrow? I sure don’t which means I better get to the chores!

Although, I’d rather be doing this:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 4:29 AM

    Those place mats are adorable!! I’m so sorry about your knee, hope you feel 100% better soon. Found you over on Lauren (TeamGiles)’s blog, thought I’d swing by and say hi. Loving your blog and adding it to my reader to keep up 🙂

    Linds

  2. February 21, 2011 6:29 AM

    Thanks for stopping by Lindsay!

  3. February 21, 2011 8:13 AM

    I wanted to go shopping yesterday, but couldn’t even muster up the energy to leave the house after I got back from yoga! Hope your knee feels better soon- enjoy your week resting!

  4. February 21, 2011 8:59 AM

    I don’t have Monday off either (hubs does though, of course) so I feel ya! Hope your knee gets to feeling better, I know how frustrating that is. At least the weather is getting nice for swimming and such!

  5. February 21, 2011 2:52 PM

    You couldn’t have said this better!'”Not taking enough time to recover after the marathon; it can take your muscles over a month to recover from that many miles and I may have jumped into the speed work too fast.” I also did the Houston Marathon and last monday I went out too fast and now my ankle/side foot hurts. I’m going to see a DR. on Wed and I haven’t been running, only a coupld of spin classes. Not being able to run is killing me! I guess I learned the hard way and know what to do next marathon. Good lukc with your knee.

    • February 21, 2011 3:33 PM

      Sorry to hear you’re hurting too. I can’t stand not being able to run either, and it’s only been one day lol. Take care!

  6. Ligia permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:34 PM

    You are a rockstar and can get through ANYTHING! Wishing you a speedy recovery 🙂

  7. February 22, 2011 12:16 PM

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I hope your knee feels better soon! I can totally relate to the reluctance to admit to injury; thankfully, most of the time you just need to take it easy for a bit and a little rest will go a long way! Congrats on the awesome 5K, by the way!

  8. February 22, 2011 3:05 PM

    Hey–thanks for the visit to my blog!
    Sorry to hear you’re hurt. 😦 It looks like you know exactly what to do, so good luck and I hope you heal soon.
    You’re going to love your George Foreman. I use mine at least 3 times a week, and you can make just about anything on them–different meats, quesadillas, sandwiches, grilled fruits or veggies… they’re an amazing contraption. 😀 Have fun!

  9. February 22, 2011 9:13 PM

    I’m sorry you are hurting. Yuck! You are smart to take it easy and rest it. Better safe than injure it further. Rest, ice and buy it cute things. Sound like you already have a jump start on the last one. :O)
    Hang in there!

  10. Heather N. permalink
    February 25, 2011 11:21 AM

    so… if blog friends are called “blends”… then wouldn’t blog readers be “bleaders”? i think i like blends better… 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Fish Out Of Water |
  2. Summertime and the Running is Easy « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

