Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Pasta Primavera

February 21, 2011

Look at all those beautiful colorful vegetables. These will defnitely brighten up your Monday.

That’s right. It’s that time again. Time for 30-Minute Meal Monday.

Tonight I bring you Pasta Primavera.

I’m going to be honest with you, I like easy recipes. If I have to read too much mumble jumble or a recipe list just looks way too long I usually just pass the recipe on up. Making healthy meals is really simple, you typically use fresh ingredients in their natural form to create a fresh dish. This recipe has a number of ingredients, but it is so, so simple to make.

Pasta Primavera

Serves 2-3

2-3 servings angel hair pasta

1 T olive oil

3 cloves garlic

1/2 red bell pepper

4 stems asparagus, chopped into 2 inch pieces

1/2 dozen grape tomatoes, cut in half

1 carrot, diced

2 cups spinach, chopped

1 T flour

1 cup vegetable broth

1/4 cup milk

salt and pepper

For Garnish:

Basil

Parmesan cheese

Cook pasta according to directions.

Heat oil in a skillet on medium heat, add garlic and sautee for one minute. Add bell peppers, cook until they soften, about 3 minutes

Add asparagus, tomatoes, and carrots. Cook and stir for  5 minutes.

Stir in flour and incorporate for one minute.

Add chicken broth, milk, salt and pepper, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and allow the sauce to thicken. (about 5 minutes)

Stir in spinach.

Toss pasta and vegetable sauce mixture together. Serve garnished with fresh basil and a table spoon of parmesan.

Most imortantly,  Enjoy!

So, how did Monday treat you? What’d you eat?

For breakfast I had a delicious bowl of Yogurt.

In the mixture:

1/3 cup plain lowfat yogurt

3/4 cup cocoa puffs

1/2 medium banana

1 tsp stevia

Snacks:

 

Lunch:

2 cups of romaine, 2 tablespoons raisins, 1/2 diced apple, 2 tablespoon sunflower seeds, 2 tablespoon newman's own lite honey mustard.

Look how many fruits and vegetables I ate today!!

  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 3/4 cup grapes
  • 2 cups baby romaine
  • 2 asparagus spears
  • 1/2 carrott
  • 1 cup spinach
  • cherry tomatoes
  • red bell pepper
  • fresh basil

I used to go days at a time where I didn’t touch one fruit or vegetable. I didn’t appreciate fruits and vegetables for the nutrition and energy they provide my body. They’re so fun and versitile! 

FitChickBritt Fitness Tip: Try incorporating one extra fruit and/or vegetable in your daily eats, maybe even try something new you’ve never tried! If you make a conscience effort to eat atleast one more vegetable/fruit daily, overtime you will find yourself adding more and more to your daily intake.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 10:22 PM

    This looks SUPER YUMMY! I literally want to make everything you show us! Yum-O! And thanks for the comment on my blog! To answer your question, all of the blogs I look at (and love) are on the side bar of my blog page. Yours is one of them! 😉 They are all links if youre wanting to check it the DIY stuff…Im pretty much obsessed!

  2. February 21, 2011 10:24 PM

    We had a similar breakfast! I did Uncle Sam cereal with yogurt and blueberries – I call it my breakfast parfait – delish!

    Your pasta looks delish – love, love, love all those fresh veggies – so pretty and yummy!

  3. February 22, 2011 2:43 PM

    That pasta looks good! I may have to try something similar this week.

  4. February 24, 2011 4:46 PM

    I used to be the same way, going long times without consuming any fresh produce. Now I am in love and could not even consider going a meal without at least one!

Trackbacks

  1. A Late Start |
  2. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

