Skip to content

Orange Loaf Bread

February 23, 2011

I had a few ingredients in the refrigerator that have been staring at me taunting me that they were about to expire and I needed to use them soon. Do your groceries glare at you too?

 

I feel bad I’ve been neglecting my yogurt this week. The Teddy Grahams have been winning in the snack department.

On a whim, I finally bought a loaf pan while I was at the grocery store on Sunday. Tonight was the perfect opportunity to use it!

Orange Loaf Bread

  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest (grated orange peel)
  • 1 1/2 cup flour ( I used 1 cup AP 1/2 cup wheat)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Glazed topping:

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon orange juice

 Combine butter and sugar in a mixing bowl. Add egg, yogurt, orange juice and peel and stir well. In another bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to the wet mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes and drizzle with glazed topping.

I had a little piece for dessert.

 P.S. Dinner was amazing. I’m not sure when I became the veggie queen, but I am loving my veggies right now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 10:54 PM

    I have such a *thing* for all things orange in flavor. I’m kind of eliminating all things sweet right now as they are triggers for me, but once I get control (Lord knows when that will be…), I might just have to make this orange loaf – it sounds and looks soooo delish!

  2. February 24, 2011 12:56 AM

    seriously?! That is the cutest bread recipe I’ve ever seen! And so easy, and healthy too! what is your trick to meal planning? I love everything you make!!! 🙂

  3. February 24, 2011 12:32 PM

    I’ve never seen people actually use orange juice! what a great plan. It’s good to see a citrus loaf circulating around

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Orange Bread « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

