Skip to content

Purple and Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes and MORE!

February 24, 2011

When I wasn’t even looking for them, I found these nifty purple potatoes I’ve been curious about at the grocery store and I just HAD to get them.

Purple and Blue Cheese Potatoes

For two

You need:

  • 15-20 mini potatoes
  • 1/5 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 ounces of blue cheese
  • salt and pepper

Place potatoes in large sauce pan with water, make sure potatoes are completely immersed. Bring water to a boil on high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer covered until tender about 10-12 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat milk and butter in small sauce pan over low heat.

Drain potatoes and mash using potato masher or large fork. Add milk and butter mix and blue cheese to combine.

Season with salt and pepper to taste.  

Crispy Garlicky Green Beans

For Two

You need:

  • 1/2 pound green beans
  • 1/2 T olive oil
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • salt and pepper

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Typically, when I mention using salt in a recipe I am referring to sea salt. I love the texture and flavor that sea salt provides over standard table salt. Sea salt is also less processed than table salt. Sea salt is salt in its more natural state and raw form, which makes it healthier for you.

Fill a large bowl with ice water and set aside.

Bring pot of water to boil over high heat. Add beans and 1 teaspoon of salt, cook until just crisp, about 5 minutes. After draining beans, immediately transfer to the bowl of ice water (to stop the cooking and keep them crisp). Drain the beans from the cold water.

Heat olive oil and garlic in skillet on medium heat. Add beans and cook for 2-4 minutes.

  And Grub-a-Grub-Grub!

How are you friends? Ready for Friday already? Me too! It’s been a long week.

I went for another swim today and it was relaxing, but I can’t help that I’m starting feel a little anxious. If I don’t get enough sweating in and intense workouts for the week I start to feel extremely a little cranky and high strung. Exercise is such an important part to my day and I can’t wait to get back into some running. I want to sweat!!

As we were going to bed last night Hubby was saying there was just not enough time in the day. We talked about how it’s just so hard to be able to work a full days work, do household chores, have/make dinner, workout, run needed errands, and spend quality time with each other.

I once wrote a post about taking time out for yourself regularly, and I am a huge advocate of that. But, sometimes things start to get a little hectic and we forget to take that time out for ourselves, and we start forgetting our priorities, taking on too much, and suddenly it seems we’ve just run out of time in the day to do what we need/want to do. 

My mom gave me some excellent advice to follow in terms of choosing priorities. It seems we’re always saying “I should be doing this, I should be doing that” and we work up and stress ourselves out just thinking about all the things we feel we need to get done. 

Take a moment to sit down and write a list of all the things you think you should do.

Let’s see:

  • I should clean out my car
  • I should scrub the bathrooms
  • I should do my taxes
  • I should go to work
  • I should read the books that are piling up I haven’t gotten to
  • I should take Dolly to get a haircut
  • I should clean my desk area
  • I should get all the laundry hung up
  • I should get my oil changed
  • I should pay the bills
  • I should make some calls I’ve been needing to make
  • I should go get my hair done
  • I should start redecorating the house
  • I should make dinner each night
  • I should work out each day
  • I should work on Hubby and I’s budget
  • I should spend quality time with Hubby
  • I should work on some things on my blog

Now, take your list of should and make them a list of needs (things that are absolutely necessary for you to do)

  • I need to go to work
  • I need to do my taxes
  • I need to spend quality time with my Hubby
  • I need to make (or at least plan) dinner each night
  • I need to get my oil changed
  • I need to pay the bills

The actual “need” list is always so much smaller than the “should” list. Don’t get caught up in all the small things that need to get done that are stressing you out. Focus on your necessities. Keep an ongoing organized  list of  the things you feel should get accomplished and check them off as you have time, but don’t get too stressed out because your car is not cleaned out (can you tell I need some work in this department) Guilty!

Life is meant to be enjoyed, not packed full of things we feel we should be doing. Do the things you need to do and want to do! And don’t forget to make some quality time for yourself and with your loved ones!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 9:21 PM

    it does become so overwhelming sometimes – all the “shoulds” adding up!

    I like your idea of separating out the “needs”.

    Hmmm…perhaps I NEED to get my car inspected since it was due in January – ooops! =)

    Love the look of those purple mashed potatoes! so fun!

    • February 24, 2011 9:23 PM

      Yes you NEED to do that, coming from the girl who had to pay like a $200 fine for putting that off last year 😦

  2. fitandfortysomething permalink
    February 25, 2011 7:27 AM

    i agree! first off life is too short but it is hard to get it all in when you work fulltime etc……..take time for yourself and enjoy the ride 🙂
    hope you have a great day today……

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    February 25, 2011 7:31 AM

    I need to try purple potatoes and your recipe looks like the perfect opportunity to do so! I agree, life is too short, do what you want/need!

  4. February 25, 2011 8:18 AM

    just came across your blog! you have some great insight on your posts! i can’t wait to see what you come up with next! what a great post girl- those purple potatoes looks amazing!

  5. February 25, 2011 12:08 PM

    Those potatoes look delicious, I will need to search for them 🙂

    I love your ‘should’- ‘need’ list!!

  6. February 25, 2011 2:27 PM

    What are those purple potatoes??? Are they naturally like that or are the GM? do they have something special? I bet kids would love those. My to-do lists are crazy, but I’ve seperated them out by putting reminders on my calendar, moving some things to a long-term list that I only review every month instead of several times a day.

    • February 25, 2011 2:48 PM

      No, they are not GM, they are naturally purple! They contain the same antioxidants as blueberries. Next I’m going to try the purple caulifower.

  7. February 25, 2011 6:08 PM

    I love the list! I overwhelm myself so easily, this is brilliant! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 30 Minute Meal Monday: The Best Tofu « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

