Skip to content

A Productive Weekend

February 27, 2011

I mentioned yesterday I had my hands dirty with a project around the house. I’ve been saying since we’ve lived in this apartment complex for a couple of years now that I wanted to make a pretty outside space that I would actually want to hang out in and surprise surprise, being my procrastinator self, it wasn’t ever done.

I love to be outdoors and enjoy my surroundings. With the beautiful and warm weather and some inspiration from Donna’s recent DIY projects I was itching to FINALLY get my hands on the patio.

It was really really bad. Out there we had a few random chairs, a big cooler, a table, the vacuum cleaner, some boxes, and the ground was really dirty. I’m also really ashamed to admit that *sometimes* we’d even throw the trash out there until it made it to the dumpster {hanging head in shame}. Hey, it’s a pain climbing three flights of stairs and walking two blocks to the nearest dumpster! I can run 26.2 miles, but throwing the trash away, that’s a different story.

So here’s before:

I decided I wanted to approach “Project Patio” as frugally as possible. I scanned the porch for what I had already and would make do.

I took my Lowes gift card I won from the 5k last week and bought some spray paint to paint the chairs and table.

From Garden Ridge I purchased some cute seat cushions and a rug.

I found my accent pieces from Marshalls Homegoods.

I even went all Cinderella and scrubbed the dirt off the ground (even though I really think our apartment complex should have had it pressure washed before we moved in,  but what can ya do?).

The finished product:

Ahhh much better.

On top of revamping the patio Hubby and I had a pretty productive weekend.

Today we both headed to the gym and I cycled for 30-minutes and completed a 30-minute upperbody tonight circuit. My arms were definitely feeling the burn!

After that we headed out to run errands, went to a couple stores to look around and had lunch.

We went to Freebirds. It’s a “build your own burrito place.” You go down the line, choose the size and type of tortilla, the fillings like rice, beans, meat, and toppings like salsa and guacamole.

I had the a small veggie burito- a spinach tortilla filled with rice, black beans, lettuce, pico de gallo, grilled onions, garlic, guacamole, and salsa. Deeeelish!

and I snagged a few of Hubby’s chips.

We both really enjoyed it!

So after lunch I had big plans for dessert. I bought a Groupon for berripop (frozen yogurt) in the Woodlands. It stated clearly on the Groupon that you could bring in the paper copy or show them the Groupon from the application on your phone but, the manager wouldn’t take it via the phone, so no Berripop for me. I was pretty mad because the Groupon should go in line with what it says. I was still in the froyo mood so we stopped by a different place called Tutti Frutti. So.Good.

I didn’t know how the place worked when I walked in. It was self serve and they only had one size cup and I just wanted something small. I filled it with a little cheesecake, blueberry, and strawberry froyo and topped with real strawberries, cheesecake bites, and graham crackers. Apparently they have one size, you fill it as much as you want and then they weigh it to see how much you have. I accidentally got waaay too much.

My plan was to eat half and save half but Hubby decided to go through the car wash, and things started to melt a little and get out of hand, and I couldn’t see perfectly good froyo go to melted mess. 😉

After we took Hubby’s car through the carwash we went home and picked up my car and took it to the car wash too. I could finally put my new sticker on!! I’ve been waiting over a month to put it on!

So, two workouts, two clean bathrooms, a little shopping, one big lunch, two loads of laundry, two loads of dishes, two clean cars, and one beautiful “new” patio space later Hubby and I are ready to do some relaxing.

I love productive weekends!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 10:37 PM

    Oh my gosh! You are the sweetest thing ever…I feel so COOL for being mentioned (and linked!) in YOUR blog! And WOW…your patio looks absolutely adorable!!!! We should get together one weekend and go thrift-ing together and catch up! And maybe have a super-healthy-yummy lunch, inspired by YOU! 🙂

    • February 28, 2011 3:59 PM

      Well thank you for bringing some creativity my way 🙂 I would LOVE to go “thrifting.” You can teach me the ropes, and I’ll find a good place to eat!!

  2. February 28, 2011 8:50 AM

    Your patio looks so adorable! I love before & after pictures, and you really captured both. I would do anything for a froyo place to open up around me, the closest is about an hour away *sigh*

    L-O-V-E the stickers on the back of your car 🙂

  3. February 28, 2011 1:03 PM

    AH! Great idea!! I’ve been trying to think of a way that I can spruce up our kitchen table but this may just be it – I love the idea of colored chairs to go with the brown table. You may have just helped me out… 🙂

  4. February 28, 2011 2:51 PM

    What a super fun weekend. 🙂

    I swear we sound so much alike. Our weekend normally consist of some kind of organizing, errands and froyo somewhere in there 😉 That’s a huge bummer about Berripop. They’re not my favorite. I like the self-serve better. I feel like I get way too much at the non-self-serve places.

    I saw a hubbell & hudson bag too 😉 I LOVE THAT PLACE. Holy cow, its awesome.

    Love the patio decor too!

    Glad you had a great weekend!

    • February 28, 2011 4:03 PM

      We do sound so much alike! I love Hubble and Hudson! I introduced the Hubby to it yesterday. I hope you had a fantastic vacation. Can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    February 28, 2011 3:24 PM

    I can’t wait until I can put 13.1 on my car! Your patio looks so gorgeous. I love the green chairs and candles.
    Mmm…frozen yogurt is da BOMB! 😀

  6. February 28, 2011 4:36 PM

    Your patio looks GREAT! What a transformation! And that burrito…mmm.

  7. Lyndsey permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:45 PM

    Good to know someone else leaves trash on the patio! We did that all the time, and may or may not have even thrown our Cmas tree over the railing into the greenbelt below…horrible! You are too cute, patio looks GREAT!

Leave a Reply

