Skip to content

PB&J Night

February 28, 2011

Hello Friends! I’m straying from the usual “30-minute Meal Monday” post tonight for a couple of reasons.

1. I had a really busy day at work that required a little too much brain power and I just wasn’t in the mood for cooking, writing, or snapping pictures.

2. Last night I had a hankering for some PB&J but we were out of bread. So, of course, I had PB&J on my mind all day and I picked up some bread on the way home from work. I figured you guys could handle the recipe for PB&J. Although the peanut butter to jelly ratio has to be just right!

 

Nom, nom, nom.

GOOD NEWS! It was gorgeous outside and I was planning to try a little run tomorrow, so I took advantage of the weather and attempted the run today instead. I successfully ran 2 miles with zero knee pain. Over a week off from running seems to be just what my knee needed. I don’t think I’d taken that many days off from running in over two years. I’m still going to take it easy on the running this week.

I may have even signed up for my next race, and MAY have convinced a special someone to do it with me 🙂

SO STOKED! and double score for me- they had a deal for this race on Groupon!

After my run I came home enjoyed a little down time, and a smoothie, then jumped on my indoor bike trainer while I watched the Bachelor.

Sidenote: I’m not really sure why I started watching the Bachelor this season. I’ve only seen a few of the seasons before this one, but I watched the premiere this time and I’ve seemed to be invested since. I really like both girls that are left so I’m not really sure who I want to win.

Do you watch the Bachelor? Who do you like?

After my 30 minutes on the bike I did a few lower body exercises designed to strengthen the knees. I’ve been reading up and learning that in order to streghthen the knees you need to strengthen the muscles around the knee that support it (the quads, inner thighs, outer thighs/hip area).

I think I did a big no no when I completely abandoned strength training in the last month of my marathon training. I love to strength train and I’m usually really good about doing it a few times a week, but for the month of January I was concerned with runnning more and stregnth training less, so I barely did any that month leading up to the marathon. Live and learn. Live and learn.

Tonight I did:

  • Dead lifts (3 sets 15 reps)

  • Inner thigh raises ( 3 sets 20 reps, each leg)

 

 

  • Outer thigh raises (3 sets 20 reps, each leg)

  • Static Lunges (3 sets 10 reps, each leg)

I’m going to try to do this quick routine 3 times this week to gain some strength around my knees while not pushing it too hard.

What are your favorite exercises for quads and inner/outer thighs?

Well, I’m *hoping* tomorrow I can get my workout done in the morning instead of the evening so I must get to bed.

What’d you have for dinner tonight? Something more glamorous than a PB&J I hope!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:05 PM

    Happy to hear you are back running! Do not like PB&J, can you believe it?!?
    Btw…dead lift…hope you keep back straight! NEVER bend back like that!

  2. February 28, 2011 11:00 PM

    That’s an awesome Groupon!! We just got Groupon in our town about a month ago, and I haven’t felt inclined to buy one yet. I swear one a week is for laser hair removal.

    Dinner here was a pub night out! We haven’t had one in an extremely long time, and it was awesome.

  3. February 28, 2011 11:40 PM

    Glad to hear your run went well!
    I had baked tofu and a roasted sweet potato – nothing fancy but absolutely delicious!

  4. Laura permalink
    March 1, 2011 12:26 AM

    That PB&J picture is such a tease!! I wasn’t in the mood for cooking either… Kashi Go Lean Crunch it was!

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:45 AM

    yay for being able to run! I think I did something to my hamstring/groin because when I run it feels so weird so I haven’t run in a week either but I’ve been doing the elliptical/spin class.
    I love PB&J 🙂 So simple and soooo good.
    I had pasta for dinner haha nothin’ special

  6. March 1, 2011 8:39 AM

    Can’t WAIT to see pics of you and JJ at Warrior Dash haha! You beat me on dinner, which was a bag of Special K blueberry and a Diet Dr. Pepper on the way to volleyball practice.

  7. March 1, 2011 10:47 AM

    When are you doing Warrior Dash – Saturday or Sunday?? When Sean finally agreed to sign up, the time I was running was already filled – BOO. But I’m glad you got JJ to do it with you!

    • March 1, 2011 2:53 PM

      We’re set for 4:00 on Sunday. I basically signed us both up and said, “Hey, you’re doing the warrior dash with me.” It was simple really, lol.

  8. March 1, 2011 11:59 AM

    Warrior Dash, that is AWESOME!!!! I really should sign up for one 🙂

    PB&J’s sounds perfect for dinner tonight!

  9. March 1, 2011 12:42 PM

    The Warrior Dash looks soooo fun! I wanted to do it, but was too chicken to hit up something like this the week before my half! Can’t wait to read your recap on it! =)

    I heart PB&J – that’s what was supposed to be my lunch today, but alas…it ended up being my breakfast so now my breakfast will have to be my lunch! ha!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Recap + 30 Minute Meal Monday: Homemade Macaroni and Vegetables |

Leave a Reply

