Skip to content

National Nutrition Month

March 1, 2011

Did you know March is national nutrition month?

National Nutrition Month® is a nutrition education and information campaign created annually in March by the American Dietetic Association. The campaign focuses attention on the importance of making informed food choices and developing sound eating and physical activity habits . (source)

The theme for this year is “Eating Right With Color

So what does eating right with color mean?

Certainly, to me, it means eating more fruits and vegetables. You know I love my fruits and veggies.

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tips for eating more fruits and vegetables:

  • Add a green monster to your daily routine. You’ll get a daily dose of greens, plus, you can add bananas, cherries, strawberries, peaches, mango, oranges, apples etc… Get creative! Sometimes I’ll declare one week “Green Monster Week” and I’ll have a green smoothie for breakfast each morning.

  • Try a new fruit or vegetable. Have you ever tried purple potatoes? What about parsnip? roasted brussel sprouts? baked sweet potatoes? kale? rhbard? fresh mango? an ugli? This month, I encourage you to branch out and buy a fruit or vegetable you wouldn’t typically throw in your grocery cart.

  • Top oatmeal with real fruit instead of buying pre-flavored oatmeal. Try strawberries, blueberries, peaches, blackberries, or pineapple and sweeten with a little honey.

  • Instead of prepackaged granola bars bring a fruit or vegetable for your snack at work or school. My favorites are apples, oranges, sliced cucumber, celery, or fresh strawberries.

  • Sneak  more veggies in your every day meals. Throw some asparagus in your favorite pasta dish, try diced zucchini and squash in your chili, throw broccoli in your breakfast casserole, or make veggie a quesadilla.

  • Pack a small salad for lunch instead of a bag of chips. I grab a handful of spring mix and a sprinkle of blue cheese and instantly have a delicious side salad to go with my meal.

  • Get creative with salad. Make a big salad for dinner topped with black beans, corn, salsa, and avocado. Or have a sweet salad for lunch topped with apples, grapes, madarin oranges, rasins, and sunflower seeds. The possibilities are endless when it comes to salad!

  • Check out a local farmers market in your area. Google can help you with that.

  • Try to serve a fruit or vegetable with each meal. Carrots, parsnip, brussel sprouts, potatoes, broccoli, and cauliflower are great for roasting and pairing with any main dish.  Serve orange or apple slices along side breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

This month I am definitely going to try to introduce myself to a new fruit or vegetable I’ve never tried, choose fruits and vegetables over other snacks, and visit a farmers market.

What do you or can you do to make your diet more colorful? Are there any new fruits and vegetables you’ve been wanting to try?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:54 PM

    great tips! I follow mostly all of them which is a SHOCKER haha. I’ve been wanting to try cherries, pomegranets, and kiwis. I too try to eat some veggies/fruit with every meal. I actually think I’m going to turn into a fruit I’ve been eating to much lately.

  2. March 1, 2011 10:28 PM

    This is great! There is a company from my town called “Today I ate a Rainbow” to help kids eat more fruits and veggies. I think it’s great.
    I don’t like eating fruit so green monsters and other smoothies are key for me. I could eat veggies all day every day though!

  3. Kalli permalink
    March 2, 2011 7:39 AM

    great tips for sure! i will definitely think of eating something new this month. have a great day!

  4. March 2, 2011 9:36 AM

    This is such an awesome blog post about eating right! The idea of ‘eating a rainbow’ is such a great way to get children to eat fruits and veggies. I may have to set something up for my classroom 🙂

    I eat all fruits, but the one vegetable I have wanted to try is brussel sprouts. I have always been skeptical of them, because of their shape and smell. But I have heard so many wonderful things about them. I plan to incorporate them into a meal this weekend!

  5. March 3, 2011 10:03 AM

    I had no idea it was national nutrition month. That’s awesome!

    I love eating my colors. Being a vegetarian, I always try and make my plate as bright and colorful as possible. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Scrambled Egg Muffins |

Leave a Reply

