Skip to content

Makeup Free Friday

March 4, 2011

A few weeks ago on a Friday I was piddling around the apartment drinking coffee and spending too much time on the computer before work I ended up rushing out the door in a frenzy to get to work on time. About halfway through the day I passed by the mirror in the bathroom and realized I completely forgot to put on makeup that day. Whoops!

I will admit it; I’m one of those girls that really doesn’t like to leave the house without wearing at least some makeup. I definitely feel my best when I’m completely “put together”. But, somehow actually, on that day I realized it was kind of nice to not have to worry about putting on makeup that day. I’d already made it through half the day with no makeup on in front of my coworkers. Since then, I’ve decided to start sporting Makeup Free Fridays.

Who says we should have to wear makeup every day? Why should we ever feel so uncomfortable in our makeup free faces we feel like we can’t even leave the house without it?

Sure, it seems nearly impossible to get that flawless even skin tone and dark defined brows and lashes you see in those beauty product commercials. I’m sure I could have that if I could airbrush myself too, but this is me. This is the beautiful and flawless face God gave me. And it’s flawless because it’s mine, it’s original, it’s unique, and you can’t find it in the aisle at Wal-Mart.

Cute clothes, jewelry, and makeup can sometimes provide us with that extra confidence boost on the job or when we’re out on a date and there is nothing wrong with that.  Women should be able to exude that same confidence they feel through who they are, and their natural beauty.

Not wearing makeup has and can definitely take some getting used to. Eventually, though, I’ve felt liberated and actually more confident in who I am since I’ve been practicing wearing no makeup. Knowing that I can feel comfortable going to work without makeup on has done wonders for my self-esteem.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t get a few “you look tired” or “is something wrong” comments (isn’t that annoying?!) when I have had my makeup on. I just declare that I’m not wearing makeup and sporting my flawless God-given beauty.

I’ve learned that the more comfortable and confident you feel you begin to radiate and others start to notice your glow.

I’m going to try to keep up with the makeup free Friday. I like the way it’s helping me grow into a self-assured and bold woman. Will you do it? Will you own your beauty? Take some steps to get comfortable with who you are. Be confident. And shine. Feel free to join me for makeup free Fridays. It feels great, and you will feel great!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:13 PM

    Your beautiful without it! I love being free from make-up. This is such a great idea to just embrace your beauty from inside out and be confident in your own skin. Lately, I’ve been going with little to no makeup just because it’s a hassle to take it on and off!
    I’ll be taking part in make-up free Friday 🙂

  2. mom permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:11 PM

    I think what you are doing is great. I decided to do that a long time ago. I also decided I don’t care what people think. My face is so much healthier without make-up. I feel the best when my face is clean and moisturized and don’t forget to moisturize your neck like my mom taught me. I don’t even wear base anymore. I only put light make up on when I am doing something special. Your skin will thank you as you get older. Natural is the best and it just feels good! Keep it up. I think you are naturally beautiful anyway. I love that picture.

  3. March 5, 2011 6:24 AM

    Haha…I’m the opposite- most days are makeup free. Fridays I semi dress up usually with a skirt or dress when I have my long Friday morning runs & just want to throw on something quick, cool (during the summer) and comfy. That’s such a great attitude though & have you seen fellow Houston blogger Rachel? She’s hysterically funny & been doing a great series on owning it for a while. http://www.rachelwilkerson.com/2011/03/04/a-serious-and-official-statement

  4. Jeremy permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:32 AM

    As the only male employee among 15 women, I have seen the panic when someone forgets to apply makeup before the come in. It is nice to see someone realize that inner beauty is more admired than outer beauty. Coming from a guy, it may not mean much, but the natural look is just fine by me.

    • March 5, 2011 12:58 PM

      Thanks for reading and thank you for the insight! I think girls care more about wearing makeup than most guys really care.

  5. Ligia permalink
    March 5, 2011 1:45 PM

    Agreed! I have a lot of make-up free days because I’m ALWAYS running late and that’s the last thing I do before I walk out the door. If I get to it, great and if not, it’s not a big deal! You go girl 😉

  6. March 5, 2011 8:21 PM

    Aw, you’re such a cutie patootie without makeup – good for you! You’re right, makeup shouldn’t be the thing that makes us feel good about ourselves. But admitedly, it really helps sometimes!

Trackbacks

  1. Runners Are Gross |
  2. Make Up Free Friday |
  3. Makeup Free Friday « Fit Chick Britt
  4. Makeup Free Friday « Fit Chick Britt
  5. Make-up Free Friday « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

