Skip to content

Scrambled Egg Muffins

March 5, 2011

Just another Saturday going on over here. Hubby and I woke up around 7 and lazied around snuggling with Dolly for a while. 🙂 We got up and I made coffee and breakfast.

Scrambled Egg Muffins

serves 2-3

You need:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup cheese
  • 1/5 cup milk
  • 1/2 t baking powder

In a large bowl whisk eggs. Add all other ingredients and stir well. With scoop, scoop into greased muffin pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Allow to cool and devour!

Look at me being so good eating my colors…

After breakfast I headed over to spin class at the gym. Even though I showed up almost 20 minutes before class started I got the LAST bike; which means I got stuck on the weird bike that is randomly wedged at the front of the class right next to the instructor and awkwardly faces all the other bikes. Sigh. I will say it was motivation to try harder being put in the spotlight and it was a great workout. I haven’t been able to get in many cardio intense workouts lately and my heart rate was thanking me afterwards. After spin class I headed to the pool to swim some laps (I meant to do this yesterday). I swam for a nonstop 15 minutes. Not sure how far it was, I stopped counting laps after a while.

During spin class I got to thinking about some of my future goals for triathlon and cycling events. I have a few events on my radar for this season and I started thinking I’d like to get more familiar with my actual bike. I go to spin class fairly often, and I’ve ridden the stationary bike plenty of times, but in all honestly I haven’t ridden my road bike actually out on the road very much. I’ve done a number of 12-15 mile rides around the neighborhood, and one serious 20+ mile ride on the “real” road, plus the two triathlons I’ve done (one was 15 miles the other 12.5). Then I realized- I’ve actually ran farther than I’ve ever cycled on my road bike. Crazy!

I attribute this to a few things:

  1. There’s not really anywhere for me to ride my bike around where I live. Most of the roads aren’t really bike friendly and when I have tried to ride I just don’t feel safe.
  2. I usually ride by myself and, again, don’t feel the safest out on the road by myself.
  3. I need to learn how to change my bike tires! I get nervous about venturing off on my bike without knowing how to change my tire. Plus, I’ve never carried a spare and obviously that would do me no good.

 

So all this going through my head on my spin bike I’ve decided I’m going to get myself more familiar and comfortable with my road bike. After all, it is a major component and the longest component of the triathlon. I’m going to find some group rides and learn how to change my bike tire. I know it can’t be that difficult; I’ve just never sat down to actually learn and try.

Well, we are headed out the door to a birthday party. I hope there’s cake! That’s colorful right? 😉

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Kalli permalink
    March 5, 2011 5:10 PM

    yes get more comfortable and start riding! i went on a great ride today….hope you get cake 🙂

  2. mom permalink
    March 5, 2011 8:00 PM

    wow that looks good!

  3. March 5, 2011 8:20 PM

    Love your pink kitchen gadgets! Those scrambled egg muffins do look delicious. I’ve always wondered how to whip those up. Thanks for posting the recipe!

    And girl, is your bike pink? If so, I’m going to need the deets. I’m shopping for a road bike/hybrid. Of course PINK would sway me!

    • March 7, 2011 8:23 AM

      Yes it’s pink! It’s nothing fancy, but it is a road bike, and it gets the job done. It’s called a dawes shelia.

  4. March 6, 2011 9:00 AM

    Yum, what a creative idea! I’ll need to try them :):) Thank you for the recipe 😀

  5. March 6, 2011 10:58 AM

    Those look deelish!
    My city is not at all bike friendly which definitely prevents me from getting out as much as I’d like. My car isn’t quite equipped to transport my bike either.

  6. March 6, 2011 11:02 AM

    Those egg muffins loke so simple and easy to make! Omg I HATE getting to spin late too. At my gym we have a sign up sheet so your guaranteed a spot since its usually jam packed and people reserve bikes. Craaaazy. I got stuck on a bike once that had a crappy strap and my foot kept getting loose during sprints. It was no bueno! Id love to ride my bike outdoors more often. It seems so relaxing. But we dont have trails or anything so its hard!

  7. March 6, 2011 10:06 PM

    totally gonna make those scrambled egg muffins later this week! yummy (and yes…colorful)! =)

  8. March 7, 2011 8:49 AM

    Of course cake is colorful! Those scrambled egg muffins looks delicious. I am not a big egg eater, but I could enjoy these!

    Also, where did you get your pink knife and measuring cups? I L-O-V-E them!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Recap + 30 Minute Meal Monday: Homemade Macaroni and Vegetables |
  2. Fahrradreisen |

Leave a Reply

