Skip to content

Good Food=Good Weekend

March 13, 2011

I had such a good weekend with so much good food I’m not even sure where to begin!

Saturday morning started off with Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes.

After pancakes I finally finished up my grocery list and headed to the grocery store. When I first got to the store it was still fairly early so it was dead but by the time I left the store it was packed. I can’t stand a packed grocery store.

I felt like a goober taking a picture of my grocery cart, but Lauren at Team Giles is planning to do a post about what’s in your grocery cart and she’s going to feature different bloggers grocery carts in a post. If you have a picture send it to her!

After I made it back home and lugged the groceries up our 3 flights of stairs, I headed to the park for a run. It was a little late when I got started running and boy it’s getting pretty warm already. Sometimes I like really sweaty runs though. They make me feel really accomplished. I did an easy slighty-over -3-miler.

Pre-run Snack:

Green apples slices sprinkled with cinnamon served with crunchy peanut butter with raisins on top for dipping. I got this organic green apple from Hubble and Hudson and it was HUGE. My apple slicer couldn’t fit around it. I made Hubby split this snack with me.

When I got home I wanted to stretch out so I did some yoga on the porch. It was great. What a beautiful day!

Then I had lunch and dessert.

burrito + red quinoa and flaxseed chips

 

burrito was filled with spring mix, mashed blackbeans, cheddar cheese, and jalapenos

Hubby and I then went to Target and Bed Bath and Beyond. We had gift cards for both and I got a new curling iron I can’t wait to try and we bought a juicer. 🙂

Surprise Surprise we had Mexican food for dinner. We eat Mexican A LOT. I got the veggie fajitas.

I guess I never really mentioned on the blog what I was giving up for lent this season (well I mentioned it to a friend when she asked in one of the comments). But, I wasn’t really sure if I was going to “formally” announce like I’ve seen in other post. I figured I might as well get it out since I let y’all know everything else.  And because I’m an overachiever I’m giving up more than one thing.

  • Meat: I’ve kind of toyed with the idea of vegetarianism and I mostly eat meat because it’s convenient. I’m really even not a huge fan of cooking meat and mostly just eat it when I’m eating out. I’ve kind of phased meat out of my diet gradually. My MIL noticed this and had some concerns, but I assured her that you can get plenty of protein from sources other than animal products to fuel your body. I figure I can use lent as motivation to stick with abstaining from meat and see how it goes.
  • Wine: This one was a last minute decision. Last week I drank a little more wine than usual and I figured it would be good for me to go with out for a while. I do love to have one glass of red wine two to three times per week but it will be good to cut it out the next few weeks.
  • Facebook on my phone: This might sound silly but I’ve been finding always being “connected” gets stressful and annoying. I don’t need to be stuck to my phone for any other reason than a call or a quick text. I feel like since phones have gotten so fancy we spend too much time on them. Look around any restaurant and you’ll find half the people on their phones rather than spending time with the people they’re with. I’ve taken Facebook off my phone and I love it; I think I might keep this Lenten sacrifice forever.

Anyways, funny how some veggie fajitas can lead conversation astray. Onward!

This morning we had some more…. you guessed it….

PANCAKES! Sundays are for pancakes too. This time we had brown sugar pancakes.

After pancakes I headed to the gym for a one hour yoga class. This class was just okay and my yoga practice was feeling a little rusty. Afterwards, I snacked around for lunch.

I geared up for another warm 3-mile run this afternoon and for a post workout snack we tried out the juicer. Nom nom nom.

His:

Hers:

So good! I can’t wait for more fresh juice in my future.

We watched a few episodes of Lie to Me while I made dinner. Does anyone watch it?  Hubby and I have been watching the first season on Netflix together and it’s really a good show.

For dinner we ate our colors and now we’re relaxing.

Told you I ate lots of yummy food this weekend. Remember? I’m a foodie.

Did you eat anything yummy this weekend? Do you have a favorite juice concoction?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 8:56 PM

    Who takes pic of food cart? =)
    Wow, you got Hubby to go Target+BBB? awsum! Ohhh no…hubby cowboy fan! not awsum! ha jk!

  2. March 13, 2011 10:05 PM

    You got lots of colors in your food this weekend! Great way to celebrate National Nutrition Month!

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:16 AM

    Mmmm I wanted pancakes this morning so bad but I have none of the stuff needed to make some! I’m the same way at the grocery store, I haate when it’s crowded. I like a relaxing groery store experience :). Oh, and the more I sweat on a run the better I feel. It almost feels like I’ve ran 10 miles but only actually did 3 hehe. I am always on facebook on my phone! It stinks that facebook has an app because it’s so addicting… I should give that up for Lent too!
    I love juicing apples and oranges and ginger but I HATE celery in my juices. YUCK!

  4. March 14, 2011 2:26 PM

    This was a delicious post! 🙂

    Yea! So glad you took a picture of your shopping cart! I can’t wait till the post, coming soon!

    I love SkinnyCow ice cream, its so good.

    Glad you had a fab weekend!

  5. March 15, 2011 8:09 AM

    Everything tastes better in the Chevron marathon mug doesn’t it??? 🙂 I’ve been trying to cut meat out because I feel better when I don’t eat it. It’s just too convenient, but I’ll start working on it again.

  6. March 16, 2011 6:44 AM

    i guess i’m a mostly-vegetarian (pescetarian technically, but i don’t eat a lot of fish.) i really need to force myself to eat meat, it doesn’t come naturally to me at all. (unlike my good friend carbs!) good luck with your decision! p.s. skinny cow is awesome! i’ll have to look for that flavor.

Trackbacks

  1. She’s Baaaack |
  2. Fit Chick Britt Margarita |
  3. A Rough Start to a Good Day « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

