Skip to content

30 Minute Meal Monday: Veggie Garden Bowl

March 14, 2011

You’ll have to excuse me, this post is going to be short and sweet. I’ve still got dishes, laundry, more house cleaning, day 1 of triathlon training (today is strength) ,  the finale of the bachelor, and a baking project (I hope) standing in between me and my bed time. Good thing dinner is already accomplished.

Veggie Garden Bowl

Serves 3-4

This dinner is dense with vegetables and many flavors that will leave your tastebuds salivating for another bowl. That’s why I always make a little extra 🙂

I pretty much eyeballed all the ingredients but here you go:

  • 1 1/2 cup chopped brocolli
  • 2 small carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese (preferably part skim)
  • 1 T grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 T butter
  • 2 cloves of garlics, finely chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 cup cooked rice
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 t oregano
  • 1 t parsley
  • 1 t black pepper
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella

Steam vegetables until just tender (do as I say not as I do, mine were too tender).

Mix ricotta and parm. cheese in a small bowl and set aside.

In a large deep skillet melt butter. Add garlic and onion and saute stiring occasionally until tender.

Stir in rice and soy sauce. Drop in ricotta mixture by the spoonful.

In a large bowl combine steamed vegetables with tomato sauce, oregano, parsley, and pepper. Spread over ricotta layer in skillet.

Top with shredded mozzarella. Cover and heat for about 3 minutes until cheese is melted.

Enjoy!

P.S. Hubby said this would be great with chicken in it too for you meat lovers.

I hope your Monday went great. Aren’t you loving this extra hour of daylight?  It was hard not to get out and go for a run today, but I wanted to stick to my training plan and the weather wasn’t quite so nice this morning.

Have a good night!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 8:08 AM

    Looks deelish! I’ll have to keep this in the back of my mind

  2. March 15, 2011 8:10 AM

    I had the hardest time not going for a run after work as well, the only thing that stood inbetween me and my (second) run was dinner with the hubs’ parents, lol. I’m so excited that its light after work again though!!

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:00 PM

    O.M.G. I LOVE RICOTTA CHEESE!!! Ricotta + veggies = best thing ever. I am making this pronto!

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

