Skip to content

Happy Green Day

March 17, 2011

Good Morning. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Don’t forget to wear your green or you might get pinched!

I’ve never actually been one of those people to go out and drink green beer and “celebrate” St. Patrick’s Day, but I’ll take any holiday as an excuse to bake some cookies. Especially green cookies. I’ve told you about the love affair I once had with green before.

Mmmm

Mmmm

Mmmm

I wish I could tell you these are some crazy healthy version of sugar cookies, but, nope. They’re made of flour, sugar, and butter. I did trim the amount of butter the original recipe called for though.

  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 t salt

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour or overnight.

Roll out dough to ¼” thick. Cut with cookie cutters. Bake at 400 degrees for 6 to 8 minutes. Makes about 30 cookies.

So this morning I decided to try something new that WAS exceptionally healthy. A green monster. Not the usual green monster, but one made with Kale. Kale is a green leafy vegetable. It’s actually a type of cabbage.

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Kale is an antioxidant full of vitamin K, C, and beta carotene. My green monster with kale was really good.

Kale Basic Green Monster

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 T instant coffee

Two things:

1. If you’re a green monster virgin I would suggest the banana/milk/spinach combo. This is a “basic” green monster. If you’re skeptical about trying it this is the easiest combo. The banana really cuts back on the spinach taste. That’s why I decided to go with this combo with the kale, because I’d never tried it before.

2. If you’re looking to replace your morning coffee with a green monster or if you need some extra pep in your step instant coffee is a great addition to your green monster.

The Kale had a slightly “chewy” texture than the spinach which really blends well in any smoothie. It may take some getting used to, but, really, I enjoyed it.

 I’m also drinking out of my new green coffee mug this morning.

Do you think I can keep up my green theme for the rest of my meals today?

Do you do anything to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day? Are you eating anything green today?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 7:19 AM

    I did try kale once in my green monster, but I wasn’t the biggest fan. It was the texture, not the taste that bothered me. Perhaps better blending would have made a difference.

    I like the looks of those cookies! Total mmmmm…. =D

  2. March 17, 2011 7:28 AM

    Um- that is so not what I needed to see this morning! I’ll be craving cookies all day 🙂

    I’ve also heard so much about kale lately- it’s like everybody is jumping on the bandwagon, they must have some good PR people.

    Happy St. Patti’s day!

  3. forrestgump49er permalink
    March 17, 2011 8:03 AM

    I want cookies now!!!

  4. March 17, 2011 9:41 AM

    haha cute post. I’m not creative enough to make green cookies!

  5. March 17, 2011 6:58 PM

    Your green cookies look extra pretty on your pink plate!

  6. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:06 PM

    Yay! Green cookies 🙂 green monsters are perfect for st pattys day! Plus, a lil flour, suga, and butta never hurt anyone 😉

  7. March 18, 2011 1:10 PM

    Such cute green cookies! Wish my St. Patty’s Day included something as delicious!

  8. April 15, 2011 8:54 PM

    Hola! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

Leave a Reply

