Skip to content

The Scoop on Coffee

March 19, 2011

There’s something about Saturday morning that has me craving syrupy carbs. I swear I eat pancakes or French toast almost every Saturday. Truth be told I’d probably eat those everyday of the week if they didn’t take so dern long to make (compared to nuking some oatmeal or throwing some fruit in a blender.)

So, a couple of week ago this creamer caught my eye and I decided to try it.

It’s pretty good. Coffee is one of those things for me that has to be good and taste just right in the morning. You want your day to start off on the right foot right?

When I first started my journey to get healthy and decided it was time for me to lose the freshman weight I had gained coffee was a big struggle for me. Overtime I got used to, and got more educated on ways I could enjoy my coffee more healthyfully and less calorie-full.

We had a Starbucks on campus, conveniently in the lobby of the building my first class was in. I was always order a grande non-fat white chocolate mocha. I figured I was making a healthy decision because I was ordering non-fat, right? Wrong.

There’s still 420 calories in that non-fat drink! Now, there is nothing wrong with enjoying one of these bad boys for a dessert every once in a while or as a treat one morning, but when you’re trying to make daily healthy choices and start getting healthy a 420 calorie cup of coffee is no  bueno.

After college, I didn’t have such easy access to a Starbucks, and keep in mind I was still aiming to be healthy (I just had no clue), so I settled for the next best thing. Meet my old pal Coffeemate.

I was obsessed with this stuff! I would have 2-3 cups of coffee a day with a few tablespoons of coffeemate plus a packet of sweet n low in each cup.

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: If you use a flavored creamer actually measure your creamer into your coffee. Chances are if you’re eye-balling it, you’re probably adding a lot more creamer and calories to your cup than you think! It adds up quick.

Liquid Hazelnut

When I was trying to lose weight I would count my calories every day and I started noticing coffee sweetened with coffeemate was taking up about 26% of my daily caloric intake (if I wanted to meet my calorie goal). That’s  a HUGE waste of real food I couldn have been eating instead of drinking first thing in the morning. It wasn’t a very good approach to losing weight. I switched to the sugar free version of coffeemate which did cut back on the calories, but it wasn’t the healthiest.

Eventually I started reading and educating myself more about eating natural and real foods instead of processed food crap. Look at the ingredient list for coffeemate.

WATER, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED COCONUT OIL, SODIUM CASEINATE, FLAVOUR AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOUR, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, SALT, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, ACETYLATED TARTARIC ACID ESTERS OF MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES. 

Blech. What was all this stuff I was putting into my body?

I finally decided to make a switch. I gradually tried new things.

  • I started drinking coffee with half and half, a sugar-free syrup flavor, and sweet n low. (This met was I was looking for calorically because it had zero calories, but all the chemicals I was putting into my body was not healthy)
  • Coffee + half and half +sweet n low. Getting a little better…
  • Coffee + half and half + stevia in the raw. SO much better, but did not like the taste of stevia.
  •  Coffee + half and half + agave. Very good choice, but hard on the bank account.
  • Coffee + half and half + 2 t real sugar.
  • Coffee + So Delcious Coconut Creamer + 2 t real sugar.

And that is where I am now I enjoy my coffee with a Tablespoon of half and half and 2 teaspoons or real sugar. I do like the Coconut creamer, but I do think I enjoy the half and half better for its creamier texture. It’s so much healthier to put these real ingredients in my body rather than to pump them full of chemicals and artificial sweeteners first thing in the morning. I truly believe changing the way you enjoy your coffee can make a major difference in your health.

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Try switching to a flavored coffee and adding half and half to it rather than drinking a flavored creamer.

For me, it was all about trial and error and a gradual step by step journey to finding something healthy. This just goes to show that making small changes towards getting healthy really do add up. I understand you can’t (and it’s overwhelming to) just change your habits and your lifestyle overnight, but you can start informing and educating yourself on what being healthy really means. Take small steps to take out the artificial sweetners, calorie dense lattes, and creamers.

 Anyways, now that I’m done with my coffee talk (and my cup of coffee for the morning) I am off to head out for a bike ride. I finally bought my first pair of cycling short yesterday and I totally feel like I am wearing a diaper! Lol, I need them though.

I’m not quite sure how long I’m going to ride today, I’m just going to go as long as I feel like it. But, first, I’ve got to get my bike down three flights of stairs and strapped to my bike rack. Sigh… Hope you guys are out enjoying some beautiful weather on this Saturday morning!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 8:31 AM

    I biked this morning too – granted u went at 630 lol – but it was WONDERFUL! enjoy your ride and the beautiful day!!

  2. March 19, 2011 9:24 AM

    I’ve been stubbornly hanging on to my half and half for my coffee and refusing to switch to fat-free (it’s just not the same!), so it’s good to see I’m not the only one! I completely agree with not pumping your body with chemicals- that’s why I got away from flavored creamers. We started being more careful about it after seeing Food Inc. If you like flavored coffee, I caught the tail end of a Rachel Ray episode where she put cinnamon in with it when she brewed it. I’ve tried it with Pumpkin Spice, too. I like my coffee plain and unadulterated, except the half and half, but if you like the flavors, you could try that and it would still be natural. Also, La Creme has just come out with creamers that use real cream (http://www.mylacreme.com/all-creamers.aspx). I haven’t seen them in stores around here, but you could look out for them?
    I should probably dust off my bike and go for a ride too. : )

    • March 19, 2011 11:43 AM

      I wouldn’t switch for fat-free half and half anyways because to make it “taste” better they modify it with corn syrup. I like to add cinnamon and/or nutmeg to my coffee when I make it in the press. We have a Keurig we use most days and their flavored coffee is so good.
      I’ve seen the La Creme on TV and have been curious to check it out. Thanks for the suggestion! Have a good day 🙂

  3. March 19, 2011 10:55 AM

    I faced the same dilemma trying to get healthy. In Canada, Tim Horton’s sells Double Doubles, which is coffee with two cream two sugar. I used to drink them almost every morning until I learned one of those babies has 280 calories!! Yet, I can prepare my coffee at home with milk and stevia for under 50 calories. It was kind of a no brainer. (Yet a double double truly is candy in a cup, and a delicious, delicious treat).

    • March 19, 2011 11:45 AM

      Nothing wrong with a treat every once in a while! It’s crazy when you learn what you thought was decently healthy truly is not.

  4. March 19, 2011 1:29 PM

    great post! im an avid black coffee drinker..i like these facts though!

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 19, 2011 1:45 PM

    This is such an informative post. Lots of people think fat free = no calories but that’s no way true! I used to load up my coffee and teas with fake sugars. Now I only use the real stuff. A little goes a long way! I’m the same way with carbs on weekend bfasts. I’d love healthy pancakes during the week but I want to enjoy and savor my bfast and not rush through it!

  6. March 20, 2011 1:26 PM

    kinda makes me glad I’m not much of a coffee drinker just because it seems so stressful to get it right! ha!

    my whole problem in life is just not drinking enough. period. I’ve really just been trying to drink plain water as often as possible except in restaurants where I always order me up some iced tea. I do use sweet n low for that, though, but I’ve been trying to use less – like half a packet in a regular glass or one packet in those big giant glasses. baby steps, eh?!

  7. March 20, 2011 7:55 PM

    all this talk of biking, makes me want to go ride now! I have a mountain bike… but still.. it’ll do. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Diabetes Articles» The Scoop on Coffee |

Leave a Reply

