Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Creamy Broccoli and Cheese Soup

March 21, 2011

Did you guys have a good weekend? I sure had a fabulous and active weekend (as always). Life is what you make of it!

Saturday morning after French toast I headed out for a cycle. I did a slightly-over-21 mile out and back in about 1hr 20 minutes. There were so many cyclists out training. It makes me feel so much more comfortable on the road to be surrounded by so many other cyclists. I got caught at a light for a little while in a group that was giving me a hard time about all the pink I was wearing. Maybe a pink bike, pink and black cycling shorts, a pink top, pink socks, and pick shoes was a little much?? Nah, who am I kidding? You can never wear enough pink; all I’m missing is a pink helmet. I have a feeling one of those might be in my future since I’ve misplaced my red one.

Saturday night hubby and I went to the Aeros hockey game. The Aeros won 5-1. We had fun!!

 

Or maybe I had all the fun…

Fun Fact: In highschool I was on the drill team (dance team) and we got to dance on the ice at the Aeros game for one of the intermissions. We dressed up like penguins and danced to a mix of songs including Ice Ice Baby and Puttin on the Ritz. Good times good times… I hadn’t been back to watch an Aeros game since.

Sunday Hubby and I ran the Warrior Dash. It was so much fun. I’m so excited we finally did a race together. I’m hoping he’s hooked like me, but I’m not holding my breath. Recap is coming soon!

After all that weekend excitement I’m hungry. Let’s eat.

Do you have trouble getting the kids (or the hubby) to eat their vegetables? This creamy blend of vegetables and cheese will get even those vegetable-haters licking their bowls clean.

Creamy Broccoli Cheese Soup

For the first step you need:

  • 2 medium white potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 1/2 cups of water

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: White Potatoes are a great source of vitamin B6, potassium, and vitamin C. The white potato is lower in starch which makes it a great potato to boil and mash.

Directions:

A a large pot, bring ingredients to a boil, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Then, puree the mix in a blender or food processor.

For the second step you need:

  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • fresh basil, shredded to desired size
  • pepper, to taste

Return soup to pot. Stir in cheese and milk and season to taste.

Easy as pie!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 5:54 AM

    face in the hole pictures…haha so funny. I never make soup but this looks pretty simple..even i could give this recipe a try 😉

  2. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:13 AM

    Did you dye your hair?! It looks like you did haha. Ok and I totally agree. NO SUCH THING as TOO much pink ;). They’re just haters! That’s so awesome you did a race together… my boyfriend would probably never do a race with me lol. I love all the recipes you’ve been posting lately – they’re totally up my ally! I love broccoli cheddar soup but it’s always been so heavy this looks like a perfect version for me 🙂

    • March 23, 2011 5:47 AM

      Yeah I’ve been trying to get it closer to my natural color (a dark blonde) and the lady did it super dark!

Trackbacks

  1. 30 Minute Meals
  2. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

