Skip to content

Trying Something New

March 24, 2011

So last night I set my swim suit, cap, goggles, and towel out and told Hubby I needed to get to bed a little early because I had to get my swim done in the morning. (I couldn’t get myself out of bed for it on Wednesday). Alarm was all set for 5:15 and I was rip-roaring- and –ready to go!! I even made overnight oats in a jar since I’d be short on time for breakfast.

So this morning I wake up wiping the sleep from my eyes and Hubby says “Good Morning, How was your swim?” with a little chuckle (punk!). Yep, it was 6:30 time to get up and get ready for work. At 5:15 I heard the alarm go off (I always turn on my phone alarm and leave it in the other room so I have to actually get out of bed to turn it off) I got out of bed, turned the alarm off and bee-lined it back to bed. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve convinced myself I’m going to get up early and hit the gym and then when the alarm goes off I convince myself to just turn it off and get back in bed. I can’t for the life of me be a morning workout person anymore. I used to get up and go to spin class faithfully every Tuesday and Thursday at 5:30. I LOVED that spin instructor and she actually made me want to get out of bed and take her class. She had such an uplifting personality. Class was focused on the fact that we were staring the day off on a positive note, doing something wonderful for our bodies, and were going to have a great day. I love that. Unfortunately, she doesn’t teach that class anymore.

I feel like I’ve been trying every “trick in the book” to getting to the gym early. I set my clothes out; I set my alarm to go off in the other room so I actually have to get out of bed; I have breakfast already made; I go to bed early. I’m not sure what else to do. I need an early morning workout friend. I prefer to run outside, and I don’t want to do it alone in the dark. I could go to spin class, do strength training, and swim in the mornings though, but I always end up having to do it after work or during my lunch break because I don’t do it in the morning. I like having free time in the morning to have coffee, pack my lunch, and get ready but when I workout in the mornings I’d have to get up way too early to work out AND have sometime to myself in the morning. I’d love to do 2-3 weekly workouts in the morning and the other workouts in the evenings would be fine.

I need help! Any advice??

Fit Chick [ Insert your name here] Fitness Tip: I NEED YOUR TIPS ON HOW TO BE A MORNING WORKOUT PERSON

During my lunch break I headed to the gym to get my swim workout done. Normally I wouldn’t go through the hassle of squeezing in a drive to and from the gym, a swim, a shower, blow-drying my hair, and picking up some subway all in an hour’s time but just to put my darling sweet hubby back in his place I need to do the swim I said I was going to do. J I knew I wasn’t going to have time after work because I wanted to try Bodypump tonight. I swam for about 20 minutes which included a 400 meter steady pace for endurance, 2 X25 meter sprint, 2 X 50 meter sprint, 50 meter kick, 50 meter pull, and 100 meter cool down. A total of 750 meters- a quick and to the point workout.

I finally got up the nerve to try a new class tonight. Truth is it always takes a little time for me to muster up the courage to try something new. I don’t know how many times I passed the loud blaring music coming from the dark mystery room with an instructor barking orders in it before I finally convinced myself I needed to try a spin class. It wasn’t so scary, and I’m hooked now! It took signing up for a triathlon to finally do that.

I’d heard so many great things about Bodypump. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers, people on facebook, and my sister talk about how they really enjoy the class. I decided to jump on the bandwagon. For Thursday I have strength on the schedule for triathlon training so I figured it’d be the perfect opportunity. I walked in the class and took a look around to see what everyone had set up so I could follow suit. I had to grab a step with 2 boosters, a barbell, 2- 2.5 lb weights, 2- 5lb weights, 2- 10lb weights, 2 sets of dumbbells (5 lbs and 7.5 lbs) and a mat. Phew! That’s a lot of equipment to get. No wonder I’d been intimidated.

I asked someone in the class what to set my weights at and waited for class to start. Later I found out that the weights I’d been set to were way too heavy for the warm up and I struggled to figure out exactly what weight to set my barbell at for each circuit (because it’s based off the initial “warm up weight”). I think it’s one of those things that you learn after getting more familiar with and getting a better feel for the class. We did a few circuits:

  • Squats
  • Chest
  • Back/Hamstrings/Glutes
  • Biceps
  • Triceps
  • Squats and Lunges
  • Abs

Each circuit is performed to current and upbeat music, so there was a little Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus going on. There is time in between each circuit to relax your muscles and to change out the weights accordingly to each circuit. Overall, I enjoyed the class and I can’t wait to try it again after learning the ropes.  I find that once you do something a few times, learn the form, and get comfortable you start to get an even better workout. I think I might make another appearance next Thursday. Also, a lady in the class told me the Tuesday night class is more of a cardio/strength training (which is my FAVE) so I think I might have to check out that class too.

Before heading to class I did a little homework (I’m a nerd). I checked out the body pump website and it had some great tips and information about body pump to take with you to class:

Fit Chick Britt Fitness Tip: Body pump is a great exercise to improve strength and endurance. You can burn up to 600 calories per class. Correct form and good posture is the key to success to body pump. Keep knees slightly bent-not locked- and perform the movements smoothly.

I’ll keep you guys updated as to how I like Bodypump next week.

Time to eat!  We’re having stir fry veggies with my homeade peanut sauce. Check it out. Have a good night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 24, 2011 9:19 PM

    Mmm gimmie dat stir fry!
    I used to be the same way with morning work outs… I hated them. I usually don’t need to wake up at 530 to workout but at times when I would work out early in the morning (7am, not too early LOL) I would just say to myself “do it now so you don’t have to do it later” or “you’re going to feel great after” and I think about all the other people and bloggers out there who do it. I still drag in the morning but it feels great to have it done. I feel like running outside for me was the easiest to wake me up… something about running while the sun is rising is so energizing. I’m probably not the best person to take advice from but it’s so true that once you get your gear on and are working out you feel so much better. The hardest part is getting there though!

    I have been DYING to try body pump! You’re so lucky you got to take a class. The gym I signed up for doesn’t have body pump so it’s a bummer :(.

  2. Kalli permalink
    March 25, 2011 7:05 AM

    maybe you are just not meant to work out in the morning! i have to get up because i have no other time to do it during the day. so for me it is all about now or never. have a great friday!

  3. March 25, 2011 3:10 PM

    I’m not going to lie…it took me a really long time to adapt to morning workouts but now I LOVE them. There is always that temptation to go back to sleep when the alarm goes off and blow off the workout but if I can just get my feet on the floor then I am good to go!

    So glad that you enjoyed BodyPump. The first few classes are a little crazy trying to get used to the equipment and get all the exercises down but I think it’s so fun. It’s also totally transformational! It has made a bigger difference in the way my body looks than anything else I have ever done! Stick with it.

    Happy weekend! 🙂

  4. March 25, 2011 10:09 PM

    I am a morning person, and I LOVE getting my run in, in the mornings, but unfortunately in order to get to work on time, I have to wake up every work day at 5:00- getting some miles in would take waking up for a run at 4:30!! Sorry, I’m not going to be the next news story running outside by myself that early in the morning! So I did two things- I looked for and purchased a treadmill on Kingwod Yard Sales (www.kingwoodyardsales.com) so that if I do have a busy day ahead of me and I need to get a workout in, I can at least hop on there and catch the morning news while I run. And I agree with you- it helps when you have a buddy; only Carlos is NOT a morning person! So the other thing I did- I gave up. I decided instead to make it a family affair and exercise when my “workout buddy” could do it with me- we walk Ginger, we go running and bike riding together, we work out together, and it’s very rewarding! We’re both getting more active and fit! I’m not triathalon training, so I don’t know if that would work for you, but I do know that sleep is still important, and if your body needs it, it needs it! And as you advocate to us- it’s important for you to have that time to yourself- if that’s in the morning, enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

