Skip to content

Fit Chick Britt Margarita

March 26, 2011

I hope your weekend is going wonderfully. I feel like I’ve been a bad little blogger this week because now I officially owe you two race recaps! I owe you one from the Warrior Dash from last weekend and for today’s bike ride event. I’ll just tell you that I cycled over double the amount of any distance I’ve ever covered on my bike and I had a great time and a new experience!

Now I need one of these.

Fit Chick Britt Margarita

I love to enjoy a drink every now and then and I’m a big sucker for a margarita. Alcoholic drinks are full of empty calories and with all the working out I do I prefer to eat back my calories rather than drink them. I was on a mission to create a healthy margarita.

You need:

  • 2 lime wedges
  • 1 orange wedge
  • 1 packet of stevia in the raw
  • ¼ cup water
  • Sea salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Tequila

*Please note, I used my juicer for this recipe. If you do not have a juicer you can hand squeeze your limes and oranges. Please double the amount of fruit if you are hand squeezing.

Rub glass rim with lime.

Pour salt on a plate, and dip rim in salt. I dip just a tiny corner for a little salt taste.

Get a shaker (or any glass for mixing) and fill with ice. I used a mason jar.

Peel fruit and put it in juicer.

Viola.

Add water

Add ½ packet of stevia

Add 2 tablespoons of tequila

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Clear tequila is less processed therefore better for you, but hubby and I had this on hand and I didn’t want to spend extra money to buy the clear. If you are making this try it with clear tequila.

Shake shake shake

Pour in your glass and enjoy.

Responsibly of course!

We have a group of friends coming over for BBQ tonight.

I’m in charge of sides so I’m making:

Sautéed Kale and Onions (Courtesy of Rachael)

Red Potatoes. Red Potatoes are my favorite type of potatoes! Which ones are yours?

For dessert some baked apples. Can’t wait!

Tonight is the first time I will be experiencing a big meat-filled event while I’m not eating meat. I hope it goes well. I’ve got some tofu ready to grill.

Well my guests are arriving I must go. Have a great Saturday night!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 7:17 AM

    oooo let me know how you liked the kale!!! your marg looks deeeelicious, hope your weekend is spectacular!

  2. shiningfromwithin permalink
    March 27, 2011 8:44 AM

    I agree, I’d rather eat my calories than drink them but this margarita looks so refreshing! I think red potatoes are my favorite too but I love baking regular potatoes into fries :).

  3. Samm I Amm permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:47 AM

    That sounds delicious! And WAY healthier than our margaritas at La Cabana. I wonder how many calories a slash of blue curaçao would add 😉 You’re always so creative!

  4. March 27, 2011 12:28 PM

    Mmmm…that Margarita looks amazing. I really need to get myself a juicer.

  5. March 27, 2011 4:42 PM

    Margaritas are my ultimate potential binge beverage. I could suck those down alllllllll day! Salivating here! 🙂 I like your healthyish recipe, I may have to give that a try sometime. I usually just buy the Skinny Girl Maragarita mix, it’s 100 calories per serving, so that’s not too shabby for a guilty pleasure!

  6. pawsitivelife permalink
    March 27, 2011 4:58 PM

    What a wonderful recipe! I usually totally avoid alcohol because of the calories which makes me a party pooper. But I cannot wait to try your recipe (its been a while since i had tequilla…so i should beware of what i wish for 🙂

  7. Cara Craves... permalink
    March 29, 2011 2:15 AM

    Yum!
    That margarita looks fantastic. I love really sour cocktails…the only thing I don’t like about margaritas is the salt rim…bleh!

Trackbacks

  1. A Late Start |

Leave a Reply

