Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Pizza Quesadillas

March 28, 2011

Don’t judge a book by its cover.

This dinner tastes phenomenally better than it photographs. But, really, how could you go wrong with something that includes my two favorite types of food Mexican and Italian

To some it might sound like a strange combination of food, but I’m not shy, I’ll try anything! Hubby sure was quiet when I put his plate in front of him and that’s always a good sign.

Enter Pizza Quesadillas and Sautéed Green Beans

Pizza Quesadillas

You need:

  • 2 corn tortillas
  • 1 T ricotta cheese
  • 2 T tomato sauce
  • 2 cloves  garlic, finely diced
  • 1 T mozzarella cheese
  • 3-5 artichoke hearts
  • 3-5 basil leaves

In a sauce pan stir together ricotta cheese, tomato sauce, and garlic to make sauce.

Heat a skillet to med heat. Coat skillet with non-stick spray or olive oil and lay down first corn tortilla. Top tortilla with sauce, add mozzarella cheese, artichoke, and basil leaves. Coat one side of the second tortilla with sauce and lay on top of first tortilla sauce side up.

Flip the tortilla after it’s cooked to a golden brown (3-5 minutes) allow the other side to cook until it’s golden brown.

Recipe is for one quesadilla and serves one alongside sautéed green beans.

Sauteed Green Beans

For two servings

  • 2 cups fresh green beans
  • 2 gloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 T olive oil

Cut the ends off the fresh green beans and cut in half. Place olive oil, green beans, and garlic in a skillet on medium heat. Sautee until just golden brown.  

I want to make this again with different combinations like feta cheese and tomatoes.

Anywho, speaking of books… Yeah, remember? I started off this post with rambling on about not judging a book by its cover.

I’ve never been a big book reader. I hated the idea of having to read books for school and get tested on them. I used to make my older sister read my books for school to me up until I was in Jr. High just because I loathed reading so much. Even when we took standardized tests where we’d have to read a passage and then answer the questions. I’d skip all the reading and jump to the questions and see if I could find the answers or just guess the answer.

One crazy year, you know, the year when everyone was obsessed with Twighlight, I decided to jump on that band wagon and I actually read all four of those books in a span of a month and a half (this was huge for me!) .

The next month I decided on a car trip to finally read this book I had laying around called Mr. Maybe and I loved it! In fact, I loved the wittiness of this author, Jane Green, so much I decided to buy 6 or  7 of her other books off half.com (awesome site for text books, dvds, cookbook, and well ,any books).

 I plowed through all those books thinking maybe, just maybe, I’d finally become a reader, but that was the end of my streak. I made a resolution the next year to read more books but I didn’t even read one. It seems like now the only books I read are cookbooks. I recently bought this book that I heard awesome reviews on.

I need to make a goal to focus on giving myself some relaxation time and time to read this book I’ve wanted to read. Sometimes I find it hard to let myself sit down and not “do” anything. I’m always go go go and rarely am just vegging on the couch. I always feel the need to be busy. When I actually took the time to read in the past I’ve found it really calming and a great stress reliever. Hopefully soon I can come back and tell you all how much I enjoyed reading this book.

Do you like to read? If so, where do you fit in time to read? Do you have a specific author or book series you like to read?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 8:09 PM

    Yum! Those look like mini paninis. And with ricotta cheese! My fav. I tried reading Twilight but fell off the band wagon. I’ve read a few of Dan Brown’s book, I love his work.

  2. March 28, 2011 10:00 PM

    Love to read…but really have a hard time finding the time! Sunday is my last day of school so I hope to spend all the time I have been on homework now in the sun with a book!

  3. March 29, 2011 3:27 AM

    I love to read but it is so hard to find the time right now in between studying, blogging and housey stuff too.

  4. March 29, 2011 8:06 AM

    I love to read – especially about 20 minutes before I go to bed – so relaxing and a great way to wind down and drift off to sleep!

    And about the sunflower butter you mentioned on my post – I just bought almond butter and I was REALLY unsure how I felt about it but I think it’s starting to grow on me… Maybe I’ll try sunflower butter next… You’ll have to keep me updated on how it pans out for you 🙂

  5. March 29, 2011 8:09 AM

    Lately I haven’t been reading as much as i’d like to. Born to run was an awesome book. I got it from the library but it was so good I may just buy it too.

    Usually I’ll read before going to bed. It’s relaxing and helps me fall asleep too.

  6. March 29, 2011 5:14 PM

    I love to read, but I always have. I read mine on my Kindle, especially if I need to take a breather from work and escape to Starbucks or something. If you like mysteries, I used to eat up Agatha Christie novels like candy, starting with And Then There Were None. I really like the Jane Austen novels, too. And I’m going to sound like a total cheese ball here, but I loved the Harry Potter series- and that’s coming from a bigtime skeptic. If you like the Twilight books, (I didn’t, sorry)I know some friends who did and also enjoyed the Gossip Girl books and maybe The Luxe?

    • March 29, 2011 6:44 PM

      Oooh I forgot at one point I actually read like 8 of the gossip girl books. I’ll have to check out books on tape. I think I’d like that. Thanks for the suggestion!

  7. March 29, 2011 5:20 PM

    Also, we like to listen to audiobooks when we take long trips- that’s actually how I got started on Harry Potter. Maybe you could listen to one on your drive to work?

  8. March 29, 2011 5:41 PM

    What great little quesadilla pizzas! I have some artichoke hearts at home that I seriously need to eat so this would be perfect! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Like it or Love it « Fit Chick Britt
  2. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

