Skip to content

Spring Cleaning

April 3, 2011

You’ve got to try these seriously awesome pancakes I made this morning.

Cinnamon Pancakes

Makes 8 fluffy pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon. Make a hole in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.

Grease and heat a pan over medium high heat. Scoop batter onto the pan using a 1/4 cup for each pancake. Cook on each side until dark golden brown. But not this dark:

Whoopsies!

They were enjoyed alongside eggs and coffee. It was a perfect Sunday morning breakfast, indeed.

 

After making these awesome pancakes I had my hands full of a lot of this today:

I decided it was time do some serious spring cleaning around the apartment. The bathroom is spic and span, the laundry is done and hung up (Mom, you’d be so proud!), the kitchen is spotless, the grocery shopping is done, and I finally went through that stack of mail that’s been piling up. Phew! I’m tired.

As I was Spring Cleaning my apartment I got to thinking that, perhaps, I myself could use a little spring cleaning. Last week Ashley from Feeding Ashley posted that she was doing a Sugar Detox challenge for herself to work on not consuming refined sugars, and she asked others to join in on the challenge. You’ll have to check her post for details. I thought this sounded like a good idea, but I don’t think I could or would want to give up all sugar. I wanted to join, but in my own way. Then this morning Julie from Shining From Within posted that she was doing something similar and Spring Cleaning her diet. I loved both of these ideas so I’m going to do my own type of spring cleaning for myself.

First, I want to clear the air though. This is NOT a diet. I do not believe in fad diets. I don’t think diets that tell you that you can’t eat this or that, and restrict you from eating foods you truly enjoy aren’t always healthy and end up setting you up for failure. I don’t think diets that involve meal replacement shakes, cookies, and bars are healthy or a realistic way to live. You know, I actually don’t really even like the term diet because in reality we are all on a diet. Your diet is simply what you eat. So, while I don’t believe these fad diets used for quick weight loss are ideal, I do believe monitoring your diet (what you eat) and practicing balance in your diet is necessary for your overall health.

I’ve been eating a little too many sweets lately. I think I’ve got my husband a little spoiled because he requested homemade chocolate chip cookies TWICE this week. And you better believe I delivered. We’ve finished up 2 plates of chocolate chip cookies this last week, plus we’ve had Easter candy hanging around the office, so I’m feeling I could use a little cut back on the sugar. I feel best while I’m training for an event if I’m focused on eating quality wholesome foods, lots of fruits and vegetables, and foods lower in refined sugars.

I wanted to extend my spring cleaning to more areas than just my diet alone so I’ll be doing spring cleaning for the mind body and soul. I’m going to try to practice all of these things for the remainder of April.

Mind

  • I mentioned before I wanted to read, so I’m going to try to read for at least 20 minutes 3 times a week
  • Do yoga once per week
  • Keep my car and house clean

Body

  • Cut back sugar (I’ll be doing this by substituting natural sugars like agave, honey, and stevia for refined sugars in recipes and coffee)
  • Limit Sweets (I’ve gotten in the habit of having something sweet after dinner every meal, so I’ll be cutting back to 2-3 times per week)
  • Log/document what I’m eating each day
  • Stick to Triathlon Training Plan and complete all workouts (including A.M. workouts)
  • Stretch and foam roll 2-3 times per week

Soul

  • Go to Church on Sundays
  • Stress less, don’t sweat the small stuff
  • Try one new fun recipe per week (cooking is great for the soul)
  • Spend quality time with my husband (date night once per week)

I love “goal setting” and I can’t wait to get started on this challenge and start feeling even better mind, body and soul! I want to feel my best for the triathlon at the end of the month. I look forward to posting about how my spring cleaning challenge is going throughout the month.

Do you have anything in your life you’d like to try some Spring Cleaning on this month?? If, so I fully encourage (and love) you to join me and participate in some Spring Cleaning.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 10:16 PM

    I would love to spring clean my soul…..and my closet at home! haha

  2. April 4, 2011 4:43 AM

    Yay! I’m glad we’re all in this together :). I’m cutting back on sugar too. I love your goals & how your focusing on your soul. I, too, feel my best when eating wholesome foods. & I agree, diets are unrealistic and unhealthy!

  3. April 4, 2011 5:51 AM

    Love that you added cinnamon to your pancakes! Delicious! Good luck on your goals, girl!

  4. April 4, 2011 6:07 AM

    whoa, the pancakes, WHOA!! Look/sound very tasty
    I like your plan of reading for 20 minutes 3x a week! It’s something I do myself, and I really do enjoy it. It’s the best way to unwind before falling asleep at night too.

  5. April 4, 2011 8:55 AM

    Such a great idea! I will definitely be joining in!

  6. April 4, 2011 10:27 AM

    love this idea girl! i love to spring clean but doing it for the SOUL?! how fabulous! xo

  7. April 4, 2011 11:24 AM

    I won some NuNaturals Stevia packets in a giveaway, and really like it. I even bought more when I ran out. I like it better than Truvia.

    Your goals look great- we are moving to a new place in May so my goal for April is to sort through my “life” in our current home haha!

  8. fitnessheallthandfood permalink
    April 4, 2011 12:53 PM

    I think it’s a great idea to do “spring cleaning” and sugar really is something that can be so addictive. I think I’d like to clean out routine recipes and mix things up a bit. Fortunately starting my website is great motivation to do so! Those pancakes look so wonderfully fluffy! 🙂

  9. April 4, 2011 3:05 PM

    I love the idea of spring cleaning ourselves. I think you have great goals! 🙂

  10. April 4, 2011 3:44 PM

    Good for you! I’d like to cut back on sugar too- waaaay too many m&ms! 😛

  11. pawsitivelife permalink
    April 4, 2011 4:14 PM

    My life is one big to do project…currently it is learn to cook (better) and strech more

  12. April 4, 2011 7:44 PM

    Wow, how awesome to be making such great goals! I’m so excited for you! Where are you guys going to church? I actually did a “Spring Cleaning” of my sugars a few years back, out of necessity, and I came out of it very much surprised. I had no idea I was eating so much, I had no idea how much better I would feel without them, and I certainly didn’t predict the fact that a great deal of my sweet cravings just disappeared. I do still have a few weaknesses- a couple chocolates after dinner being one of them- but nothing like what it used to be. It made me really appreciate the natural sweetness in foods a lot more, so it makes for a fun tasting experience. I did it by just being more picky- my rule is homemade only. Dad’s homemade cheesecake? You bet! Walmart candy? Nah.

    And I have to say, thanks for inspiring my “Spring Cleaning” this year. It has been fun for once to actually enjoy eating heathfully, and- probably most of all- it has been so great to get out and enjoy being active rather than feeling like exercise is just another chore on a treadmill at the end of a long day. It’s a freeing way to live.

    (See, you got your 20 minutes in for today already. I promise I’ll stop writing books every time I comment!)

    • April 5, 2011 7:27 AM

      Don’t worry I like the books! I’m so glad I could inspire you to enjoy eating healtfully and stay active. You’ve inspired me to be active in other ways than just working out like taking walks with my dog and hubby. I love to hear that you’re being active and enjoying it! I wish we could say we’ve been going to Church a lot but it’s something we’re working on. We really enjoy Faithbridge Methodist in Spring and would like to make it our home church. Sometimes we go to The Woodlands church with my family as well.

  13. April 6, 2011 8:50 AM

    Spring cleaning is a great idea, you have awesome discipline! I defiantely need to work on cleaning up my diet and my language this Spring season. No more junk food and cursing for me!

Leave a Reply

