Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Warm Tortellini Salad

April 4, 2011

I’m so glad y’all liked my post about how I was spring cleaning my mind, body, and soul.

Day one of spring cleaning is going great so far. I stuck with my triathlon training and did:

30 minutes on the indoor bike at the gym (10miles)

Ran 3 medium-intensity miles at the park

I also was able to sneak in a one mile walk at lunch time. I love getting out of the office and doing something active during my lunch break. It feels good to get up from the desk and stretch my legs. Today we had some odd weather. It was really muggy and humid this morning and I was regretting the decision to straighten my hair (for once!). Then, at lunch time, it was cloudy, verrry windy, and strangely cold. I only did one mile because I was so cold in my tank top I had packed. By the time 5 o’clock rolled around it was gorgeously sunny and 70 degrees outside, so my run after work was beautiful, but still windy.

My meals and snacks today were wholesome and healthy. It started with a glass of yogi ginger tea in place of the usual coffee.

Overnight oats for breakfast:

Cherry yogurt for a snack (no pic)

Whole wheat pita filled with hummus, blue cheese crumbles, and arugula

A green apple smeared with peanut butter. The organic green apples from kroger are SO GOOD!

Trail mix bar

And for dinner Warm Tortellini Salad

That brings me to 30 Minute Meal Monday! You didn’t think I’d forget did you? This dish was actually so easy I think it actually only took 20 minutes from start to finish. Let’s get started shall we.

Meet the star of the show, tortellini

and the supporting actors, how could you forget them….. veggies! Here we have 10 stems of asparagus, 14 cherry tomatoes, 1 cup arugula, 1/2 can quartered artichoke hearts, 1/2 red onion.

Directions: Chop your asapragus, onion, tomatoes and sautee in a pan coated with olive oil for five minutes. Meanwhile, boil tortellini according to directions on the package.

Make your sauce. You need:

  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 t balsamic vinegar
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 2 t parmessan
  • 1 t black pepper
  • 1 t dried basil

Mix all ingredients together to yield dressing.

Drain your tortellini, toss in arugala, artichokes, sauteed vegetables, and dressing. Serve warm and enjoy.

I hope y’all are having a good Monday night. I’ve saved myself a little bit of time to read this evening. Night night!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 9:06 PM

    Yummy eats!

    The tortellini salad looks really good. Definitely something I would make.
    Question, are you a vegetarian? 🙂

    • April 5, 2011 7:18 AM

      I have temporarily given up meat for lent. I’m not a big time meat eater, I mostly eat it for convenience and I’ve debated trying out the lifestyle so I thought lent would be a perfect opportunity. I don’t think I’m going to go meatless forever, but I do enjoy eating a mostly vegetarian diet.

  2. April 4, 2011 9:41 PM

    That’s the same tortellini that I buy!! It’s so yummy!

  3. April 5, 2011 5:28 AM

    YUM!!!!!!!!!

  4. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 5, 2011 7:23 AM

    Mmmmmmmm. This looks so SO good. Great for picnics!! That trail mix bar looks fab also 😉 And Yogi ginger tea is such an interesting flavor..has a lot of zing to it!

  5. April 5, 2011 8:33 AM

    loving that trail mix bar..and those tomatoes look soooo fresh !

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

