Skip to content

Why Hello There Old Friend!

April 7, 2011

I got reacquainted with an old friend today.

Sorry treadmill, it’s just been too pretty outside to spend a lot of time with you and, not to mention, the days have gotten longer and the outside trails have been calling my name.

It’s not you. It’s me. I promise I will make better effort to love you more and not just use you for a clothing rack.

My lovely MIL so kindly lent me this treadmill while I was training for the Houston Marathon. I spent many of miles training on it during the short winter days. In addition to my long runs outside on Sundays each weekday I’d run a medium-long run on my treadmill. I would run anywhere between 8-14 miles, usually some kind of marathon or tempo paced speed workout.

To be honest, treadmill running can be pretty boring. To keep myself occupied while doing a longer run I’d rent a movie from redbox and watch it during my run. I watched Sex and the City 2 and Eat Pray Love from my treadmill and I attribute my liking of How I Met Your Mother to the treadmill. That show always seemed to be on when I hopped on the treadmill.

During shorter runs I usually keep my treadmill workouts interesting by doing intervals. When you’re constantly changing and anticipating a change in your speed the workout seems to go by faster. I hadn’t done any real speed work since I hurt my knee after my last 5k so I decided to jump back in with a little ease. Here is my workout:

6.0                          3 min.                    6.5                          2 min.

7.0                          1 min.                    7.6                          1 min.

6.1                          2 min.                    6.4                          2 min.

7.1                          1 min.                    7.7                          1 min.

6.2                          2 min.                    6.3                          2 min.

7.2                          1 min                     7.8                          1 min.

6.3                          2 min.                    6.2                          2 min.

7.3                          1 min.                    7.9                          1 min.

6.4                          2 min.                    6.1                          2 min.

7.4                          1 min.                    8.0                          1 min.

6.5                          2 min.                    6.0                          3 min.

7.5                          1 min.                    Total = 4.20 miles, 37 minutes

Fit Chick Britt Fitness Tip: Interval training helps you to burn more calories and increse your aerobic capacity. Even if you only do short bursts of higher speeds you are working out more vigorously and setting up your body to burn more calories. Also, if you’d like to increase your running speed intervals are a great place to start.

Now that I’m not training for a long distance running race and the days are getting longer and warmer I haven’t seen my treadmill quite as much. I do enjoy using a treadmill to do speed work, so it may be making more of an appearance as I work on increasing my speed for triathlons.

Do you love or hate the treadmill? How do you keep treadmill workouts interesting?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 9:46 PM

    Because I have a bad hip (I know, I’m like an 80 year old woman over here) I love the peace of mind a treadmill gives me. I can relax more during my runs knowing that if I get hurt I don’t have to figure out how to get myself home!

  2. April 7, 2011 10:41 PM

    I like the treadmill in my little apartment complex gym because it seems to rain every single day in Alabama! We can’t catch a break this week for nice running weather!

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:39 AM

    woooahh! 10 + miles on a treadmill I’d get so bored lol. Renting movies are a good idea :). Since it’s nicer weather I like to get outside but for some reason when I do get on the treadmill (at the gym) it’s not so bad. Maybe because I’m surrounded by likewise people who are also sweatin’ their butts off on the treadmill? I keep treadmill workouts interesting by only going on the treadmill every once and a while haha …dreaded treadmill

  4. April 8, 2011 8:08 AM

    My TM and I have a love-hate relationship. I love that I have it for convenience purposes (raining, too cold, etc) but it’s just soooo boring. Usually I’ll sprint a mile on it or do intervals like you to keep it interesting. (And sorry TM, I do love you. You just aren’t as exciting as outside).

  5. April 8, 2011 9:11 AM

    The treadmill and I are great friends. I refuse to run outside when the weather is too cold (which in Minnesota means half the year) so I love being able to truck along in the comfort of my cozy warm house.

  6. April 8, 2011 9:25 AM

    The treadmill is boring but I’ve found it doable while training in the cold months. You just have to mix it up like you said! The longest I’ve run on the treadmill was 9 miles… but it’s much more fun to go outside and it goes by so much faster!

  7. April 8, 2011 1:25 PM

    I never use a treadmill, so I’m guessing it would take a little while for the novelty to wear off for me. I do kickboxing and aerobics for exercise, and sometimes think I don’t have the attention span for running/ walking 🙂

  8. April 9, 2011 10:24 AM

    I own a treadmill that’s been folded up & stored in the spare room for, um….. 6 months… hehehe. It’s not because I’m lazy, it’s because with my injury, the treadmill is actually worse for it than being outside. So I have a treadmill to hang laundry on!

  9. April 10, 2011 11:26 AM

    I keep the treadmill interesting by doing my speedwork/interval training there! I don’t have a treadmill at home, so I can’t watch the tv shows/movies that would pass the time for me…but that sounds fun!

  10. April 11, 2011 8:41 AM

    I have a little stand for my laptop & I watch videos while I’m running. You can watch stuff off Youtube or netflix or I am watching videos on photography/photoshop.

    I can only force myself to do 2-3 miles, but I’m usually working incline. 0.5 mile warmup at 0 elevation, 1 mile at elevation (4%-6%) and then 0.5 mile cool down.

Leave a Reply

