Skip to content

30 Minute Meal Monday: Scrambled Egg Pitas

April 11, 2011

Evening folks!

Did you make it through Monday alive? I did. Barely. I SOMEBODY had a case of the Mondays.

It was so beautiful outside after work I couldn’t help myself but head out and run. I did a fairly quick out and back 5k in about 25 minutes. Afterwards, I hopped on my indoor trainer at home and road about 20 minutes. I seem to sweat so much more when I cycle indoors. Does anyone else do this? Also, my indoor trainer seems 10 times more challenging to ride than my bike is out on the road, or any stationary bike. It’s always a great workout! I was starving afterwards. On to dinner…

I don’t know about you, but I have been all about some pitas lately. Actually, this was my first time to buy pitas at the store and prepare them at home. I tore through that 8-pack of pitas faster than you can say pita.

I gotta tell y’all a little secret though. It’s a little funny embarrassing, but I had a major blonde moment with my pitas. Can I still have blonde moments even though my hair isn’t quite so blonde anymore?

Anyways, the first time I decided to make a pita for lunch I was trying to figure out how to cut it to stuff it. So I tried this….

It didn’t turn out so good. I didn’t get it. I’ve seen so many pretty pitas that are stuffed beautifully, but mine was all cattywampus.  Before trying my second hand at prepping a pita for lunch, something dawned on me. “Ooohhhhh, you cut it down the middle like this…”

Whoops. Live and learn. Live. And. Learn. Told you I’m really the girl that can’t cook in disguise.

Tonight’s dinner features nothing other than the beloved pita.

Scrambled Egg Pitas

Serves 2

You need:

  • 2 whole wheat pitas, cut in half (yes, in half! quite the concept.)
  • 4 eggs
  • splash of milk
  • ¼ cup diced tomatoes
  • ¼ cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • ½ red onion, diced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 t pepper
  • 1 t dried basil
  • salt to taste (if desired)

Directions: Heat skillet to medium-high heat and sauté onions. Meanwhile, break all eggs in a bowl and stir in the dash of milk and seasonings.  Add eggs to skillet, stirring until cook through and scrambled. Add diced tomatoes and cheese to skillet and stir until thoroughly heated/melted. Stuff toasted pitas with even amount of egg mixture and enjoy.

I served mine alongside a juicy tangelo.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 8:49 PM

    I actually always cut pitas along the edge! 😛

    that way it becomes two little tortillas 🙂 everything looks delish! 🙂

  2. April 11, 2011 9:14 PM

    Yum- but do you bring these to work or just eat them right away? I’m thinking about how long eggs would last. I guess I used to get tortilla (egg) bocadillos in spain which were sort of a similar idea, and eaten cold. Yum!

    • April 12, 2011 7:44 AM

      I actually had this for dinner. If I was bringing them to work I would wrap them in foil to keep them warm.

      • April 12, 2011 9:24 AM

        Ah, thats a good idea! I never thought to put stuff in foil.

  3. April 11, 2011 9:16 PM

    I love the kitty kat :D!!! LOL at your pita moment!!! We all have those days though ;). I have a bunch of pitas leftover fron Trader Joe’s have all the ingredients so I totally want to make these.

  4. April 11, 2011 9:47 PM

    Adding a scrambled egg to a pita sounds so good!

  5. April 11, 2011 10:26 PM

    Your pitas look delicious!! I cut them on the edge sometimes to make thin crust pizzas and they are awesome!!

  6. Shirelle permalink
    April 12, 2011 5:22 AM

    I think I could tote this recipe to work! 🙂

  7. April 12, 2011 8:24 AM

    Microwave them for about 10 seconds and the open up really easy. But yeah, cutting down the middle works.

  8. April 12, 2011 8:41 AM

    yum that looks like such a fresh and easy meal. I need to try it. I LOVE PITA!

  9. Kalli permalink
    April 12, 2011 9:21 AM

    love your pics! and your pita looks so good too 🙂

  10. April 12, 2011 12:32 PM

    Why have I never thought of this!? A scrambled egg pita sounds so wonderfully delicious! Thanks for the great idea 🙂

  11. April 12, 2011 2:14 PM

    That photo of the cat literally made me laugh out loud in the library!
    The eggs pitas look delivious too! I love egg tacos, but they never seem to stay IN the tortilla and a pita pouch seems like the perfect solution!

  12. April 12, 2011 9:31 PM

    YUM! This looks really good…it’s going on my breakfast-for-dinner menu next week 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

