Skip to content

Just What I Needed

April 13, 2011

I had a slightly stressful day at work today. My job is not overly demanding, but some days are definitely more demanding, stressful, and busier than others. I ended up staying a lot later than intended and I missed both the 6:00 and 6:30 spin class which I was planning on going to tonight. I’d like to say I was bummed, but I was also having one of those days where I just did not feel like working out.

When I got home Hubby told me he was going to watch the Astros game with a friend, so I’d have to whole house to myself. Visions of bubbles baths, catching up on DVR, and snuggling with my doggie danced in my head. I told Hubby I just wasn’t feeling the workout. OK, that’s a lie, I whined from the couch that I needed to get my cycle in and I knew I’d feel AWESOME after a workout, but I just didn’t want to carry my bike down 3 flights of stairs, strap it to my car, and go drive to a bike friendly place. His response was “Well you don’t have anything else to do.”

Ugh. He was right. The house is clean and I didn’t have anyone to make dinner for but myself (and that’s easy). So I changed into my workout clothes still unsure of what I was going to do. I took my dog outside and determined it was much too nice outside for an inside workout. I grabbed my keys and headed out the door to one of my favorite paths.

I promised myself I’d finish an out and back 5k course I know like the back of my hand. At about one mile in something just came over me.  I was jamming to my music, skipping right along to the beat feeling GREAT. It was then I told myself I would just run as long as I wanted to. I just kept going and going, it seemed like I was loving every single song that came on my Ipod, I felt like I was going at a flying pace, every step seemed like a breeze, and I was smiling the whole way. I had so much time to just think, be alone, and distress. I was so glad I made the decision not to skip my workout. It was definitely one of those runs that sneaks in to remind me why I love running in the first place. It was just me and my music leaving the stress from the day out on the road.

 It was just what I needed.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 8:50 PM

    oh wow! aren’t the out of nowhere/surprise workouts the best 🙂

    so glad you got it in and feel better. I really don’t know what I would do without working up a sweat most days! 🙂

  2. April 13, 2011 9:07 PM

    great job Britt! I have been reading your blog for a couple weeks now and you are SO inspiring; now this post is definitely going to make me think twice before I skip out on a workout. 🙂

  3. April 13, 2011 9:36 PM

    I love when you just “do it” and feel SO much better after.

  4. April 13, 2011 11:29 PM

    Those are the best workouts ever. So glad it worked for you 🙂

  5. April 14, 2011 12:24 AM

    Awesome! I didn’t want to work out today either, but the idea of not going actually made me sad. I was so much happier after going! Amazing run you had! I love rocking out while moving!

  6. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 14, 2011 7:08 AM

    great run! the best part if admiring all the hard work you did. My favorite part of a run is admiring the distance on my Garmin :D. I love the new background too!

  7. April 14, 2011 7:35 AM

    Ah yes, sometimes my workout is the best part of my day!

  8. April 14, 2011 8:14 AM

    WOW! I love those days. I wish they came more often.

  9. April 14, 2011 5:59 PM

    Next time I run… I’m going to channel my inner britt and hope to run that fast 😉

Leave a Reply

