Skip to content

Strawberry Chobani Pancakes and Weekend Recap

April 17, 2011

Hi friends! I hope your weekend has been nothing short of wonderful. Our has been relaxing, but has felt kind of busy. Does that make sense?

Saturday morning we woke up bright and early to go play softball for my company softball tournament.

I tricked you. This picture is from last year, because I didn’t take any this year. And to put it lightly our team was TERRIBLE. I told hubby this was probably the end of my softball career. I’m not really good and I don’t really enjoy playing softball that much, so I’m not sure why I always volunteer get volunteered to play. I think people assume if you are athletic and run a lot then you are good at all sports. Definitely not the case for me. Next year I’ll just be the cheerleader.

After coming home from the tournament I headed out to a new park for a quick and easy 5 mile run. Then, hubby and I had a low-key late lunch and happy hour, took Dolly for a walk, and hung out with the in laws for a little while. We called it an early night and it was so nice to get a really good (and long) night’s sleep.

I made a faaaaabulous breakfast this morning.

Since receiving my case of Chobani from the kind people at Chobani I swear I’ve almost eaten my body weight in this stuff. Usually I enjoy my Chobani for my mid morning snack at my desk. I’ve tried the blueberry, black cherry, strawberry, pineapple, and raspberry. All of which were fabulous! My favorite are the black cherry and raspberry so far. Since I still have over half a case left I decided to get a little creative this morning.

Strawberry Yogurt Pancakes

You need:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • ½ t baking powder
  • ½ t baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 t sugar
  • 1 large egg (or 3 T egg whites)
  • 1 T butter, melted
  • 1-6 oz. Chobani Strawberry Yogurt
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • ½ t vanilla
  • ½ t orange zest

 In a mixing bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar. Add in the eggs, milk, lemon juice, melted butter, 4 oz. of yogurt and vanilla and mix until smooth.  Stir in the orange zest. Spray griddle with non-stick spray and heat over medium heat. Pour approximately 1/3 cup of batter onto a preheated griddle. Cook for about 3-5 minutes or the top is nice and bubbly.  Turn and brown the other side. Optional: Serve with rest of Chobani yogurt on top for garnish and fresh sliced strawberries.

No I didn’t eat this whole stack to myself, but I could have! They were almost too good to be true. Make them ASAP!

For my workout today I ended up kind of doing a little triathlon, albeit not in order. My plan was to bike 10 miles and run 2 miles to see where I am at timewise, but around mile 6.5 on the bike I got a flat tire. My first flat! Does this mean I’m a real biker?! I really should carry a repair kit, but I don’t so looky who had to come to my rescue.

Thanks Hubby!

After the bike mishap, I ran a 4.2 mile lap around the neighborhood then headed to the gym for a 20 minute swim. Although, I had trouble getting started it ended up being a great workout. I also ended up with plenty of running miles this week. With all the biking and swimming I’ve been missing running as much as usual lately.

After grocery shopping and dinner I’m hoping the rest of my evening involves pure downtime.

What are you doing this weekend?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 2:40 PM

    Yuuum! Those pancakes look deeee-lish. Hmm.. This weekend I ate a bunch of yummy food lol, that counts for something right!?!

  2. April 17, 2011 3:49 PM

    Cool, I love doing a mini faux triathlon on the weekend! Yikes at the flat tire, I haven’t had one YET, omg, now I’m going to get one! 🙂

  3. April 17, 2011 4:46 PM

    You. Are. Adorable!

    I spent the whole weekend with my boyfriend. We basically went on a weekend date without leaving Houston. Starting Friday evening: dinner, movie, sleep, breakfast, movie, lunch, fro-yo, watched the Astros, made calzones, slept, WENT to the Astros game, dinner, and now home. It was woooonderful 🙂

  4. April 17, 2011 5:06 PM

    What a fun weekend! I am terrible at softball too. Could I have some of those pancakes? Pure heaven!

  5. April 17, 2011 5:45 PM

    That is one thick stack of pancakes! Yummy!

  6. April 17, 2011 6:01 PM

    Your pancakes look delicious!! I ran a race this weekend and hung out with friends…they always go so fast 😦

  7. Amanda permalink
    April 17, 2011 6:01 PM

    Can’t wait to try this recipe!!

  8. April 17, 2011 6:46 PM

    I love Greek yogurt pancakes! I made some with Fage once and they rocked!! Yours look so good too!

  9. April 17, 2011 7:05 PM

    Those pancakes look amazing. We don’t get Chobani in Canada and I really feel like I’m missing out.
    This weekend, I attempted to pack, saw some friends, and baked some cookies!

  10. April 18, 2011 7:43 AM

    I play softball with my girlfriend, too, but she’s the opposite: ultra-competitive! I’d have to drag her off the field.

    Those pancakes look so good. Thanks, now I need to eat something.

  11. April 18, 2011 8:00 AM

    I think your Chobani pancakes have finally pushed me to purchase some of this great Greek yogurt that everyone is raving about! They look so delicious! And I totally would have eaten that entire stack…good self-control.

    I actually enjoyed some pancakes this weekend with Paul on his visit; although they probably weren’t as healthy and delicious as yours the company was enough for me 🙂

  12. April 18, 2011 4:38 PM

    Found your blog off another site and am really enjoying your posts. Just wanted to say hi! 🙂

  13. April 19, 2011 5:34 AM

    I’ve had sucha hectic weekend…..this recipe is def on my to do list for when I’m home in the summer 🙂

  14. pawsitivelife permalink
    April 20, 2011 2:01 PM

    I think you should do a marathon and do it with me in January in Disney…..I`ll buy you the mouse ears if you say yes!

    • April 21, 2011 2:54 AM

      Haha I do want to do Disney one day. I want to do the Goofy Challenge. I think about it… those mouse ears are pretty tempting…

Trackbacks

  1. Bike Woes « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

