Skip to content

The Most Indecisive Girl in the World

April 19, 2011

Did you guys get to watch or check out the results from the Boston Marathon yesterday? It’s so inspiring to see such incredible athletes.  Unfortunately, I did not get to watch it because I was working, but I was enjoying all the twitter updates as to who was in the lead, and what the race was looking like. I’m hoping to catch the re-run Sunday night, or to at least set my DVR to catch it.

You may already know but Geoffry Mutai of Kenya snatched 1st place finishing in 2hrs 3 minutes and 2 seconds! That’s 4:42 per mile. That’s AMAZING INSANE. Ok, that’s amazing and insane!  That’s a respectable time for a normal runner to finish a half marathon in. I remember at my first half marathon, shortly after I finished up the first full marathoner was running in. I stood on the sidelines and got to high five him. I thought that was a good omen! I’ll gladly take some good running vibes.

Other inspiring athletes included:

American Ryan Hall, who was just here in Houston for the half marathon, set a new PR.

And American Kara Goucher, who also PR’ed and just had a baby 7 months ago. Wow!

Photo Source

Do you think I’d be faster if I invested in a pair of these running shorts? briefs? speedo? Whatever they are.

Truly all Boston Marathoners from the elites to those who qualified right into the last qualifying minute are amazing, inspiring, and downright awesome athletes.  Check out some fellow bloggers Sisters Running the Kitchen, No Meat Athlete, Runners Cookie, and Skinny Runner who all ran the Boston Marathon. I hope to one day be in their shoes. I want one of these sweet jackets.

With that being said, I’m not sure if you guys noticed or not, but I am the most indecisive person on that planet. Seriously. I weigh every decision in my head back and forth so much. I used to have trouble even just deciding what I wanted to eat or where I wanted to go for dinner.  It’s something I’m working on and have actually significantly improved at. I no longer weigh all the petty things in my head, but when it comes to big decisions I still put a lot of thought into them.

I’ve been having an intense debate with myself about whether I’d like to focus on running right now and running another marathon, or if I want to go for something different and try out the half ironman I mentioned.  I’ve got reason I do (and don’t) want to do each one, and I hope you don’t mind me sorting out my list right here on the blog.

Do another Marathon

  • I want to try to improve my time. I finished really strong and probably had too much energy at the end and I think I could get a better time. I’d even like to attempt to qualify for Boston (I’d have to get a 3:35 under the new standards). I’d love to give it a shot and see what I can do.
  • I need some new PR’s. I’ve only ran one 10k race and one half marathon and I really think I can (and would like to work on) getting new PR’s for these distances.
  • Running seems to be where my heart is at right now. While I’m trying to bike, swim, and run enough to get ready for a triathlon, I start to miss running.
  • Training for a running race is less stressful and more manageable with life than training for a triathlon.
  • I was feeling very on top of my running game during my last marathon training and I look forward to seeing what I can do for all running events 5k, 10ks, half marathons, and trail runs. It’d be nice to see if I can “perfect” my running and improve even more, rather than switching focus to something else.
  • I did get a little burnt out of all the long runs towards the end of marathon training last season.

Try a Half Ironman

  • I love trying new things! I know that one day I will certainly give the half ironman distance a whirl.
  • It will be a great challenge and help me become an even better athlete.
  • Triathlons are my favorite event to participate in. Switching from sport to sport is really exciting and makes for an interesting and fun race.
  • The race I’m eyeing has been on my radar for the last two years, and it’s really close to home.
  • I’m super competitive with myself, and I would want to get the best time I am capable of. Call me crazy, but just “finishing” is never my goal. I always want to see how well I can train and push myself.
  •  This would be A LOT of hours of training per week. A LOT!
  • I would absolutely have to do morning workouts (and evening workouts).
  • I would need to find a group to cycle with. I don’t feel comfortable doing 50+ mile rides alone where I live.

So there you have it, the debacle and debate that’s been going on in my head to decide what my race goals are going to be for this year. I know there will be plenty of marathons and half ironmans to do in the future, but I’m just not really 100% what is right for me right now. I love to race and to have one big even I focus on for the year or the “season”. It’s what keeps me motivated to get out the door and workout.

Speaking of working out, I actually did get my behind to the gym this morning. I actually got back in bed after my alarm went off but I convinced nagged myself to get back out of bed and swim. I swam 1,000 meters of speed work and called it a morning.

Other than that today has been full of work work work and “pizza”

Featuring these 2 new finds:

So what do you guys think? I would love to hear your big race plans/ fitness goals for this year!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 5:39 PM

    My fitness goal is absolutely to do more strength training, and not just talk about it… cardio is easy for me, but I have to force the weights.

  2. April 19, 2011 5:44 PM

    First of all, I think your INSANE comment about Mutai is pretty accurate. I was speechless when I saw that and hope I can watch it online/on TV at some point.

    I think both challenges sound great and that both have great pro’s. I also think that you’re going to have to choose for yourself. If you don’t and just go with the crowd favorite, you’re heart won’t be as into it as it would be otherwise. I’ll come watch you do either even though if they’re in the Houston area!

    I want to do another half this year and actually run it all. I couldn’t a few weeks ago because of an injury but I’m working on rehabbing it so that I can start training for something again soon. I also want to lose weight but more than anything my goal is just to be healthier.

  3. April 19, 2011 6:06 PM

    Wow, you have an awesome debate between training for a marathon or tri right now. I would be all over the place too if that was going on in my head.
    The point you made that you have been eyeing a tri for about two years now is a very strong deal breaker. If you honestly believe you are ready to tackle that tri head on, I say GO TRI!

    But at the end of the day it is your decision and you need to do what is in your heart. Dig deep and find which one fits best in your life right now. Because you do not want to train for something if your heart is not fully in it, as I am sure you know.

    You will make the right decision and I can not wait to find out what it is! 🙂

    P.S. You changed your blog some, I like!

  4. April 19, 2011 7:02 PM

    Hey Britt!

    I totally understand your indecisiveness as I am totally the same way! There are so many fun races and challenges to choose from! If you want to try a tri 😉 then I think you should. They are ridiculously fun and it’s great to be able to learn new skills and not burn out with one sport. It’s true that a half iron requires more training than a half marathon. However, I don’t think you need to train twice a day. You can save the bricks for the weekend. Tom Holland has some great programs that are reasonable for the working professional. I highly recommend them.

    http://www.amazon.com/12-Week-Triathlete-Train-Triathlon-Months/dp/1592331262

    I actually borrowed this book from the library when I was training for my Olympic distance tri. I didn’t follow the plan and looking back I wish I had. I actually raced an off-road half iron as my first tri which was a ridiculous experience because I had never mountain biked before! Still fun and finished in one piece (with a 3rd place medal).

    Right now I’m training for two half marathons, one in a week and a half before I’m really ready and another in June 12th when I’ll be done training.

    You’ll have a great time no matter what you choose! 🙂

    • April 20, 2011 5:22 AM

      Thanks for the info. I’ve done shorter distance tris, but I’m just nervous taking on that much distance and feeling like I’d be trained enough for it. Awesome job on the off-road tri. I want to do one of those one day. Good luck with the half marathons!

  5. April 19, 2011 7:06 PM

    Wow, strong arguments for both. My perception is that running is where your heart is right now! I’ll cheer you on for whatever you choose 🙂

  6. April 19, 2011 7:27 PM

    My fitness goal is run a 5k! I’ve never raced before!

  7. April 20, 2011 1:20 AM

    I love those flat outs! I’d say go to the half ironman, but now that you list the pros/cons, another marathon seems like the better choice. Plus I think you should try and PR for Boston. Wouldn’t that be amazzzzing!?! Those runners are ridic! And I wouldn’t be caught dead running in a speedo thing like that LOL!

  8. April 20, 2011 2:34 AM

    You know I’m laughing right now, right? This is the same exact debacle I’m in! CAN’T DECIDE!!!
    I’ll leave you with this “Do what your heart tells you to”.

  9. April 20, 2011 2:55 AM

    I love Flatout!

    I also think that Tara is right, you’re going to have to choose for yourself. I think that doing the Tri would be ah-mazing and give you a good solid base for getting into a marathon again quicker afterwards, but a marathon is no easy feat in itself and I definitely get wanting to improve times and qualify for Boston. Either way, keep me posted and let’s do long runs together… or short runs… or just any of them 🙂

  10. April 20, 2011 5:41 AM

    I was just reading that the Boston marathon isn’t considered “official” for record purposes since it involves too much elevation drop. I never knew!

    As a runner, my vote is stick with running. You said that’s where your heart is & you can do different race lengths to add some variety.

  11. April 20, 2011 6:22 AM

    I say tri! go big or go home 🙂 just kidding I’m sure youll do great at either but a tri sounds like fun to me!!!

  12. April 20, 2011 6:30 AM

    I want to do shorter, more intense workouts! I spent the last few months doing longer, slower sessions and I’m itching to change it up.

    I’ve see the yves pepperoni…did you like it?

    • April 20, 2011 10:20 AM

      Yeah they were pretty good. I wasn’t sure at first, but once I had them with the pizza they tasted close to regular pepperoni.

  13. April 20, 2011 12:10 PM

    I can totally relate to the indecisive-ness! I can never decide on anything, and I have a notebook I use to make lists when I’m trying to make a big decisions. Good luck with making your decision!

    I just accomplished a big fitness goal of mine today by running over 13 miles (almost 14)! I know this is nothing compared to a full marathon, but it was a goal of mine, and it feels great to have succeeded!

  14. April 20, 2011 1:07 PM

    You’ll make the right decision either way based on which fits your current life schedule!

    My current fitness goal is to amp up the training( I slack off so much during finals!) and pick the next tri for us to do together! I’m so antsy to find out dates I will be home so we can pick a race! I like having something to train for because it is a goal to achieve, instead of just continually working out for the heck of it.

  15. April 20, 2011 4:27 PM

    You should totally go for something new! I think part of the excitement of doing a new athletic event of some sort is the training; you learn so much about your body and push yourself beyond what you ever thought you could have done. Plus one of the great things about accomplishing something new is that it will usually wet your appetite to do more!

    Loving the new layout also!

  16. April 21, 2011 3:53 PM

    Please don’t laugh, but my goal is to actually be able to run a full 5K! I’m making a chart to check off little landmarks on being able to run it all the way. I’d also like to get into riding my bike more. Carlos used to ride all the time, so I think it would be fun. And he’s teaching me how to swim this summer… yeah, I don’t know how to do that, either! But I’m excited about getting started!

    As far as training goes, go with your gut. I’m pretty sure you’d end up happy with either one, but go with your gut. I’m guessing now’s a good time of year to get some good swimming in?

Trackbacks

  1. The Little Things « Fit Chick Britt
  2. The Procrastinators 5k « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

