Skip to content

Happy Good Friday

April 22, 2011

Hi friends! How is your day going? I am so thankful to have the day off from work for Good Friday. I’ve been extra busy at work this week working long days. I leave for work right after 7 a.m. and haven’t been making it home until 7 or 8 at night. I feel I’ve barely had time to do all the things I want to do like working out, cooking, blogging, spending time with my hubby, and all the errands and household chores that need to get done. Times like this when you’re busy at work, or with anything, call for time management and prioritizing. It’s definitely something I’m working on and something I’ve already made some progress on through the last few years.

Except apparently this morning. Somehow the time got away from me. I made breakfast, charged my ipod and garmin, and was on the computer a bit, and before I knew it it was 10 am and I hadn’t started my run yet.

I did enjoy my favorite breakfast though.

Coffee, egg in a hole, and a green monster. This is my favorite breakfast because it leaves me full for a long time and gives me energy to start the day.

After breakfast, I did a super relaxed 3 mile run, because it was just what my body wanted. On my schedule I had planned to do a longer run this morning, but I wasn’t feeling it. I’m constantly readjusting my weekly workout schedule to accommodate how I’m feeling, how much time I actually have to work out that day, and what I want to do.  Busier weeks, or weeks where you’re body is tired from training call for an adjustment in schedule. There’s no need to stress myself out trying to stay on a super rigid schedule if I feel I just don’t have the time or energy. I find I’m happiest with my fitness if I do what I actually feel like doing that day. After all, exercise is exercise and the mind and soul is much happier stress free.

Last night I didn’t make it home until about 7:30 so I missed spin class. I still wanted to cycle but some DVR that was backed up sounded appealing too, so I decided to kill 2 birds with one stone. Hubby was having dinner with the guys so I dragged my trainer out into the living room and got a little creative with my set up and road for an hour. It was actually really nice. After that, I headed to the gym to get a quick 20 minute swim in and had a late dinner.

Well, I’m off to finish up my workout for the day with a quick 15 minute strength circuit and I’ve got TONS of stuff to do today.

Hope you have a great day!

P.S. I have the best Hubby in the world!

Yes, we call eachother pooks or pookse. And we always argue over who is Pooke #1 and who is Pookse #2, but I think we see who wins that one 🙂

What is your favorite breakfast? How do you deal with keeping up with your fitness on weeks your extra busy?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 7:38 AM

    LOVE the nicknames. So cute.
    Fave breaky is definitely just toast and PB with an orange. The one breaky I never get sick of! (However fave splurge is eggs benny of course)

  2. April 22, 2011 11:10 AM

    I really want an indoor trainer! Do you use yours often? Do you like it?

    • April 23, 2011 6:05 PM

      I don’t use it A LOT. Once a week for a short ride and once every 2 weeks for a longer ride. I do like having it as an option.

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 22, 2011 12:23 PM

    aww you two are so cute :D. I feel like pretty much everyday it’s 10 am and I’m like WOAH! where’d the time go!? ..hehe ;). Great run! You’re so tan I’m definitely jealous. I look like a tablecloth LOL
    time management = key to being happy and feeling balanced!

Leave a Reply

