Skip to content

30 Minute Meal Monday: Southwestern Double Cheese Pasta

April 25, 2011

Catching up from the weekend?

I made an awesome batch of Chobani Blueberry Muffins

I learned some lessons from the Easter Bunny

What did you do this weekend? Besides eat a lot chocolate…. or was that just me?!

Hubby and I started our Easter off with a wonderful church service with a great sermon. We had a great lunch, too much chocolate, and too much pink cake (if there is such a thing.) and we had fun with confetti eggs. It was good to see family, as always.

 

 

Unfortunately, it was back to the grind and back to work bright and early this morning. I hate to see three day weekends go! I’ve decided that since I’ve been so busy with work I’m going to do some morning workouts this week to free up my nights (booo..lol). My booty shall be in spin class at 5 am tomorrow morning.

I did an eay 4 mile run with the same running friend from last week and tried out my new kicks. The verdict is still out, but I like them so far. Light weight, easy to run in.

After run I made dinner…

Southwestern Double Cheese Pasta

Serves 3-4

You need:

  • 6 oz. Egg Noodles
  • ½ cup cottage cheese
  • ½ cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/3 cup salsa
  • ½ cup corn kernels
  • 2 T poppy seeds

 

Prepare noodles according to the package directions. Meanwhile, prepare sauce. In a small saucepan add cottage cheese, salsa, cheddar cheese, and corn. Leave on medium-high heat until cheese is melted. Simmer on low heat until noodles are finished. Drain noodles, top with sauce, and garnish with poppy seeds.

This was kind of created on a whim while I was staring in the cabinets/fridge to see what I had and it worked really well together.

Do you ever come up with random meals based off whatever happens to be in the kitchen at the moment?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 5:18 PM

    you had me at double cheese….mmmmm! =)

    most of my meals are made based on other people’s recipes and then tweaked to meet my needs. I rarely make anything unplanned because I keep a low stock in my house – probably has something to do with being a single girl – ha!

  2. April 25, 2011 5:49 PM

    That’s a cute picture of you guys! I missed the confetti eggs this year 😦
    That pasta looks yummy…TFS!

  3. April 25, 2011 6:06 PM

    Aw you and your hubby look adorable!! And the pasta sounds so yummy!!

  4. April 25, 2011 6:44 PM

    You guys are a great looking couple! I’m a recipe follower. Whenever I’m stuck for dinner ideas, I search some blogs!

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:18 AM

    MMM!!!! I LOVE egg noodles! Probably the only thing I like with eggs.. besides desserts ;). I love that pic of you smashing something on that girls head haha it’s funny (don’t know if that’s mean to say or not lol!). I usually just throw a bunch of things in a saute pan + add spices and flavorings and call it a meal & a hope for the best.

  6. April 26, 2011 5:32 PM

    I totally do! We call it “fridge cleanout”. Surprisingly it seems to usually come out tasty 🙂

  7. pawsitivelife permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:43 AM

    I try to plan my meals in advance so that I actually use up things in my fridge, but sometimes I notice that I have to make room and a great fridge binge begins

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

