Skip to content

Bike Woes

April 27, 2011

I am having a bit of trouble in bike land. Remember when I got a flat tire the weekend before last? Yeah, I still haven’t fixed it. I know, I know I’m a procrastinator.  I was going to take it in last weekend for a tune-up but that didn’t happen, so I figured I’d take care of it this week. I called around today to ask about prices to get a tune-up and apparently the going rate for a tune-up is $70 PLUS the new tire cost. Ay Caramba! I didn’t want to pay that much.

Soo… I took matters into my own hands… and set my bike workshop up.

Fun Fact: When I was younger I used to turn my bike upside down and pretend like it was an ice cream shop, and turning the pedals was like churning the ice cream.

I’ve actually never changed my own tire before and changing the back tire can be exceptionally scary.

I found some pretty helpful videos about changing tires on the internet.

How to change a bike tire/inter tube

How to remove the back tire of a road bike

I went to work with my supplies.

Yes, I used a butter knife. Clearly I am a professional.

After conquering getting the back tire off the chain, and finally getting the actual tire off the rim, I installed the new inter tube I got the tire back on. Success!!

But wait, there was just one problem. Apparently the inter tube comes complete with a “presta valve” that doesn’t air up with a traditional pump like I have, so I can’t air up the tire. Sigh….

I’m going to take the tire to a bike shop tomorrow and get some help and then probably buy a presta valve adapter, so I can air it up on my own. I’m cutting it pretty close! My tri is on Saturday. Yikes.

All this bike work is reminding me why I really prefer running over biking 🙂

 I hope y’all have been having a good week. Nothing too out of the ordinary for me,  it’s been work work work and a little bit of working out, and lots of yummy eats. In other news, today was a sad day because I finished the last cup of my case of Chobani.

Confession: I’ve been eating this stir-fry for too many meals to count this week.

  • 1 package of frozen stir fry vegetables (yes, I eat the whole bag to myself)
  • Splash of orange juice
  • Squirt of lemon juice
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 T peanuts
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 t ginger

All I do is throw in the veggies, juices, and spices in a pan and sauté for 5- 7 minutes. YUM!

Well, it’s time for me to hit the hay. Have a good night.

Have you changed a bike tire before?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    April 28, 2011 3:08 AM

    wow! if I would’ve known that you could pretend a bike was an ice cream shop when I was little I totally would’ve done that too. That’s a bummer you got it all fixed up but couldn’t pump it with air. You need to come eat some of my Chobani because I have an endless amount!!! It’s seriously the never ending Chobani monster.. I also agree that that bag of frozen veggies = 1 serving. Heated up they make about 1 cup.. which is nothing to me! My hunger monsta likes lots of veggies mwahaha 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:43 AM

    and where the heck was your husband during this tire changing experience????

    • April 28, 2011 6:19 AM

      Out watching the pens game, but I need to figure it out for myself because I need to learn. Plus he knows less about bikes than I do!

  3. April 28, 2011 5:54 PM

    You’re 10 steps ahead of me with the bike, becuase I would never even try. Good luck with your race this weekend!

  4. April 28, 2011 9:31 PM

    I’m always so scared that I’ll get a flat while I’m out somewhere! I have a patch kit and everything, but it still makes me nervous. Thanks for the tutorial…I’m bookmarkin’ it 🙂

  5. April 29, 2011 7:06 AM

    Hey, you’re one step further than me. I bought bike tire repair supplies, but am scared to try using them! Awesome that you just dug in and tried!

  6. pawsitivelife permalink
    April 29, 2011 5:16 PM

    I would probably buy a new bike before changing a tire. My dad tried to teach me to change a car tire…the car started rolling down hill…oops

  7. April 29, 2011 8:22 PM

    Check you out, fixing your own pink bike! Good luck tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

