Skip to content

30 Minute Meal Monday: The Best Tofu

May 2, 2011

This is going to be short and sweet, but I whipped up the best batch of tofu I’ve ever made!

008

You need:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu
  • 2 T olive oil
  • dried basil
  • sea salt
  • pepper

Wrap the tofu in paper towels and place something hard on top to drain the liquid (like a plate). Leave towels to soak up liquid for 10 minutes. Slice tofu into very thin cut squares (like the shape of saltine crackers). Drizzle square with olive oil and sprinkle with basil, sea salt, and pepper. In a pan on medium-high heat pan fry the tofu for 3-5 minutes on each side until golden brown.

005

Serve along side you favorite side like purple mashed potatoes and garlicky green beans.

007

Or you can eat it childhood style with some mac n cheese and peas. Smile

pink_cartoon_bird_or_chick_0515-1003-1906-0318_SMUFit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Tofu is a great source of protein for vegetarians, and a great change of pace for non-vegetarians. Tofu is one of the only food products that contains all 8 essential amino acids. Tofu is very bland, but has the ability to absorb the flavors of whatever ingredients it’s cooked with. The olive oil was deeeelish.

Told you. Short. and. Sweet. Goodnight!

What did you have for dinner tonight?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 10:25 PM

    Sounds good, girl! I had some grilled chicken, sausage and some healthified mac-n-cheese for dinner! Definitely overdid it…oh well haha!

  2. May 3, 2011 7:13 AM

    Yum- that looks great!
    I had roast chicken, salad and rice. Also delicious 🙂

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    May 3, 2011 7:22 AM

    :O! YUM! I am loving tofu lately.. and this has basil in it.. and I am a sucker for anything with basil in it!

  4. May 3, 2011 2:08 PM

    I love it! So simple and delish!

  5. May 3, 2011 9:51 PM

    Yum! I always like tofu tutorials because I’m horrible at making it and really enjoy the taste! I need to practice, I’m sure.

  6. May 3, 2011 11:21 PM

    mmmm mmm that does look awesome, just like the delicious marinated tofu from the Whole Foods Hot Bar yum! I have to say my attempts at seared tofu never life up to my expectations so I need to try this. I love the simplicity of your recipe. I also love the mac n cheese side 😉

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 4, 2011 11:38 AM

    I am a vegetarian that is so scared to cook with tofu. Mainly because when I started vegetarianism I was 14 and my mom used to just cut it up and give to me. No seasoning, no nothing. Im scarred!

    • May 4, 2011 3:03 PM

      Oh my, I can see why you’d be scarred and scared! If you cut it very thin like this and pan fry it it will get really crispy.

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

