Skip to content

Friday Favorites: Pre-Packaged Foods

May 6, 2011

In a perfect world I’d grow a huge garden in my back yard with fruits-and-vegetables-a-plenty and I’d do all of my shopping at a local farmers market. BUT, the world I live in is not perfect like that. Heck, I don’t even have a backyard. In the “olden days” people lived in rural areas where they raised their own chickens, churned their own real butter, and grew their own grains and vegetables. Wouldn’t that be surreal?

In today’s society we are so busy with the things we just refer to as life “life”: Work, bills, errands, going here, going there, and managing the kids, our health, and just the general hustle and bustle. I definitely fall victim to always being busy or on the go with something. With the go-go-go mindset it can be pretty tricky to make the best decisions for your body especially regarding food. What works for me is just doing the best I can by making the best food choices to fit my lifestyle. Sometimes this means I eat pre-packaged food (gasp!). I try to make the best choice possible and stay away from overly processed foods and things that contain too many ingredients I can’t even pronounce. With many people more concisely watching their diets there have been some great healthy and wholesome convenience foods appear on the market and I thought it be fun to share some of my favorites.

There was a great article on Active.com this week that showcased some of the healthiest packaged foods of 2011. Here’s two of my favorites from their list:

Blue Diamond Almond Breeze

 

I now prefer almond milk to cows milk. Blue diamond has a great creamy nutty flavor that goes great with cereals, in smoothies, and by itself.

 

Lemon Chobani

I have not had the opportunity to try lemon Chobani, but I love me other flavors of Chobani. I eat Chobani for my morning snack pretty much every week day.

Here are my personal favorite pre packaged foods:

 

Central Market Organic Blue Corn Chips

 

 

Amy’s Burritos

 

 

Naturally Preferred Extra Firm Organic Tofu

 

 

Larabars

 

 

Bolthouse Farms Green Goodness Drink

 

 

Kashi Veggie Meals

 

 

Bear Naked Granola

 

 

California Pizza Kitchen Frozen Pizzas

 

 

Yogi Tea

 

These are all things you can find in my kitchen frequently. I tend to buy the same items when grocery shopping and I try to make the best decisions possible when it comes to the food I choose. When I’m eating right I feel better, and my energy and attitude is better.

When choosing packaged foods make sure you read the labels. Try to get a food with the least amount of strange ingredients, added sugar, and high fructose corn syrup. Try to choose snacks that contain a good mix of carbs, protein, and healthy fats that will keep your blood sugar level down and leave you satisfied. Familiarize yourself with healthy choices you can find in the grocery store. Pick a few healthy snack items and quick dinner foods you like that you can incorporate in your diet when times are busy.

What kind of healthy packaged food do you like?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 6, 2011 4:24 PM

    Any of the Amy’s products are good but a little pricy, we dont get Chobani in Canada but I love love love Liberte yogurt

  2. May 6, 2011 4:29 PM

    Amy’s! Love her foods!!

    I can’t get my head around Almond Milk… The flavor was too… sweet for me. I love Soy Milk though. And I love Bare Naked granola… YUM.

    I’m also a HUGE Clif fan. I love the bars, the trail mix mars, and the shot blocks. Delicious.

  3. May 6, 2011 11:00 PM

    You and I must be operating on the same brain waves this week, haha! I posted about these, but I love the Kettle brand baked plain potato chips. They have three ingredients: potatoes, oil and salt. And they come from a responsible, respectable company. Also, the Yogi brand makes some really great cereals, and Honest Tea makes a killer Moroccan mint green tea. I’m with you- since we’ve started making conscious decisions to be more careful about what we put in us, we’ve both felt the difference, and frankly, we haven’t missed the junk!

    And PS: Have you tried a vegetable co-op? That can be a good way to find some locally grown fruits and veggies, and most of them offer once-a-week (or even less frequent) pickups. It just takes a little planning and knowing what’s in season. : )

  4. May 7, 2011 7:07 AM

    I adore Larabars! Seriously could not get enough of them 🙂 THanks for guest posting today! xo

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    May 7, 2011 9:08 AM

    I pretty much eat most of these things too! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with eating packaged foods here and there, especially if the ingredients list are pronounceable and are real ingredients. I LOVE almond milk, too! Hmm.. my fav pre-packaged foods are almond milk and pretzels + soups.

  6. May 7, 2011 1:41 PM

    I’m obsessed with lemon chobani!!!!!

  7. May 7, 2011 5:11 PM

    Oh my GOSH, I love your blog. I just started reading it. Half of these, I get, too. Thankfully, they offer Amy’s stuff in my college cafeteria, so when I don’t like what they are serving normally, it’s a nice, healthy quick-fix! I also LOVE Clif bars, Stonyfield Farms yogurt, evol burritos, and Naked juice.

  8. May 8, 2011 7:14 AM

    I’m a big fan of Chobani, not lemon though! I accidentally pick lemon thinking it’s pineapple! Also from that list I like the Kashi frozen dinner, the sweet and sour chicken is sooooo good!!

  9. May 8, 2011 4:05 PM

    Hi new reader… love your blog and love meeting a fellow H-towner! 🙂 I need to start getting some of those foods that you listed, they look yummy!

  10. May 8, 2011 10:18 PM

    Absolutely love Chobani!! And blue corn chips are so yummy too! I’ve never tried that Kashi dinner before but I’ve tried one of their chicken ones, and it was delish!

  11. Lettuce Choose Healthy permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:02 AM

    i always look for real food listed on the ingredient of pre packaged foods.

  12. May 9, 2011 9:28 AM

    It’s so true that it’s okay to eat packaged foods you just need to be conscious of the ingredients 🙂

    I love larabars and almond milk as well. We are also big fans of Trader Joe’s Frozen Indian meals once every week or two as an inexpensive alternative to dining out when we want a night free from cooking 🙂

    Hope you have a great start to your week! 🙂

  13. May 9, 2011 4:27 PM

    I used to work for Bolthouse Farms!!!

    Unsweetened Almond Breeze is one of my favorites, but I only like the original. I eat a ton of Oikos plain greek yogurt too.

  14. May 9, 2011 10:39 PM

    Going gluten free has had me snacking on lots of Mary’s crackers! I also love greek yogurt, Clif bars, and condiments.

  15. May 10, 2011 6:04 PM

    I love putting Bear Naked granola in my Chobani! A quick snack for me is sometimes a Special K bar or the pre-packaged apples!

Leave a Reply

