Skip to content

Just Some Randomness and Maybe a Few Tips

May 19, 2011

Hi There! Depsite what you might think I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth. I should be back to regularly sheduled blogging, baking, running, and cooking next week. Hallelujah!!

I’ve been so busy because I’ve been taking a six week personal training course and all I have been doing is working, going to class, and studying. And by all I’ve been doing, literally, that is ALL I’ve been doing. I can’t wait to get back to a normal schedule. I take my test this Sunday and I’m super nervous because it is A LOT of material and a very nerve wracking practical exam. Wish me luck!

Anyways, I thought I’d share some randomness that’s been going on  in my life lately.

I was thrilled when I found out I won Julies Luna Bar Giveaway. I was even more thrilled when the package had arrived and she’d even included some PB and amazing grass samples and a sweet note. Thank you Julie!!

The chocolate-coconut combination is sooooo delicious. Speaking of chocolate coconut have you tried Starbucks new Moco Coco Frap?! So good. Infact it was so good I went back the next day for a latte version. 🙂 Hey! A girl needs her study fuel.

Remember my Jillian Michaels challenge I mentioned at the beginning of the month? Uh yeah, week one went perfect, week 2 and 3, never happened. Sorry Rachael. If you’d like to follow someone who is doing the challenge and posting feedback check out Rachaels blog. We shall meet again Ripped in 30.

I’m super excited about 2 things this weekend:

1. Blogger meet-up. Can’t wait to see/meet many other Houston bloggers, and we’re going to Hubble and Hudson one of my favorite places 🙂

2. Ironman Texas- The innagural Ironman Texas is about 10 minutes away from my house on Saturday. I can’t wait to spectate and witness all the hype surrounded by the event. I’m volunteering at one of the water stations along the run course and I’m so happy/excited to be a part of such a great athletic event.  I think I even want to get up early to see the swim waves start! I’m sure visions of earning an ironman title will be dancing in my head (as if it isn’t already- I’m just not THAT crazy yet.) A girl can dream…

However, I was crazy enough to sign up for my 2nd marathon. I got an email notification that my Houston Marathon time from this year had qualified me to bypass the lottery for next year. I decided I couldn’t pass up the opportunity and that I’d earned my spot for next year so I went for it! I already can’t wait!!

I’ve got race fever and this is the only one I’m signed up for in the future. I need to fix that asap!

So since I’ve been so busy and away from home a lot I’ve been trying to do some things to keep up my health/sanity:

1. Drink plenty of water. Staying hydrated helps me stay awake and focused and keeps sweet cravings that come with stress in check.

2. Make healthy food choices. I try to make the best possible choices while I’m busy. This helps me to not feel sluggish and tired and makes me feel okay with the fact that I haven’t had time to work out as much as I usually would.

3. Get in some kind of exercise. While I haven’t really been hitting the gym and doing work out videos I have been making it a point to do something active each day. When time permits I’ll take off for a 1-2 mile loop during my lunch break. Last night I took a study break to do a quick 10 minute cardio (jumping jacks, punches, jumping lunges) followed by 10 minutes of dumbells. I’ve been running some on the weekends and jumping on the treadmill for a quick 1-2 mile run periodically during the week just to keep up some fitness (and sanity). I go crazy if I don’t get something in.

4. Don’t stress about the future. I used to be really bad about this. If I knew I was going to have a busy day on Friday I’d worry about Friday all week long and I’d let it stress me out. I’ve been trying to live in the moment and just get done what I need to get done rather than worry and stress about things that are going on the next day or week. There’s no sense in making the present stressful by focussing on the future. It sounds like such a simple concept, but is really working for me.

5. Get plenty of sleep. I try to get 7-8 hours of sleep a night because I know I feel best when I do.

So, what have y’all been up to lately?? I miss my blog friends!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 1:14 PM

    Some weeks, staying sane is all we can do. You will rock the marathon! Why not stick a half in there too? http://www.seejanerun.com in Austin!

    • May 19, 2011 1:15 PM

      I will definitely be doing some races in between now and then I’m just not sure which ones yet 🙂 Thanks for the link!!

  2. May 19, 2011 1:57 PM

    I’m not sure yet if I’ll be able to go to the blogger meet up 😦

    One of my good friends is participating in the Ironman and I can’t wait to go see him!

  3. May 19, 2011 2:01 PM

    Wow, busy bee! I was just wondering where you had gone! Good luck on your exam – I just know you will do wonderfully! =)

    Congrats on the qualification for Houston – so exciting!!!

    I have tried the mocha coconut frap – oh my goodness…it’s too good to not be sinful! love it!

    We had to change the meet-up to The Egg and I on Saturday because of traffic/congrestion issues with the Iron Man. 9:00am. Can’t wait to see you!

  4. May 19, 2011 2:08 PM

    Mmm- those Luna bars sound delightful. I might have to see if they are available here in Canada.

    I definitely know how studying can take over your life- glad you’re managing to stay somewhat sane. Good luck finishing up and we’ll see you on the other side!!

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    May 19, 2011 3:58 PM

    I missed you!!!!! Good luck on your exam! I’m sure you’ll do great. 😀
    Congrats on signing up for your next marathon, woop!
    I agree, I am bad (and probably still bad) about stressing about things in the future before they come. I’d love to spectate/volunteer at an Ironman that’d be so much fun. Glad you’ll be back to regular posting soon 🙂

    • shiningfromwithin permalink
      May 19, 2011 3:59 PM

      oh! and you’re so lucky you can go to a blogger meet up! too bad we don’t live closer, we could totally have a huge blogger meet up and eating yummy food 😉

  6. May 19, 2011 6:14 PM

    Wow, it sounds like you’ve been really busy! Congratulations on signing up for another marathon! Good luck with your test on Sunday!

  7. Lettuce Choose Healthy permalink
    May 20, 2011 4:00 PM

    yay im glad you liked everything 🙂

  8. Kalli permalink
    May 21, 2011 8:45 AM

    Hi! glad you have been keeping busy! i just got that DVD and am excited to give it a whirl……..

  9. May 21, 2011 1:29 PM

    so bummed I missed the Houston meetup, I didn’t find out about it until a few hours before… while I was still sleeping lol! And thanks to you, I tried that mocha coconut frapp from Starbucks… deliciousness, thanks!

  10. May 22, 2011 3:27 PM

    Congrats on your personal trainer course! My coworker did hers recently, I know how much work it is!

  11. May 22, 2011 8:56 PM

    I picked up the new Luna flavor today and can’t wait to try it! I love all things chocolate and coconut 🙂

  12. May 23, 2011 6:32 AM

    Great that you’ve signed up for your 2nd marathon!
    That’s really cool that the Ironman is so close to you, does spectating make you think “maybe, just maybe I could do this” ?? 🙂
    I like your wrap up, don’t stress about the future! Wise words!

  13. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 23, 2011 6:17 PM

    Woo hoo! marathon! I am a huge worry wart, worrying about the future is my favourite past time. I really wish I could give it up, because the ulcers it causes is just too much

Leave a Reply

