Skip to content

Get My Groove Back 5-K Plan

May 24, 2011

I have to admit I felt a little funny writing up a plan for a 5k, but I’ve been quite short of consistent with my running lately since I have been so busy. I really miss running consistently. I figured I’d write myself out a plan to get my weekly base back up and work on some speed. This fall I intend to mostly work on running and I hope to run a couple longer distance races in preparation for my marathon training. So this plan is kind of like pre-pre training. Make sense? good! Smile

    groove5k

This plan here  is just for running and I’m going to add in spin, strength, and yoga as I see fit or so desire. I’m excited to get in some speed specific and tempo runs and kind of get my running groove back! I’m planning to run a 5k on 4th of July weekend so my plan works perfect. I’ve got race fever lately and I love having a set race to look forward to as motivation to get my booty out the door and run.

I started the plan yesterday with 3.5 miles and do my first real speed session tomorrow. It’s been a while since I’ve visited the track.

I find that writing out a set plan helps me for many reasons:

  • A plan keeps me accountable and gives me a means to check off work outs as they come.
  • It allows me to write out a method to reach a goal whether it’s a time or distance goal.
  • It’s a useful tool to look back at to see what worked and didn’t work for me.
  • They keep me focused and committed over impromptu running.

Of course, a plan is always flexible. I know before I write the plan that some days will end up being flip flopped or might be missed if something comes up.

So, what about you are you a plan person or  more spontaneous?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 10:33 PM

    I like your plan, although I find you totally brave for running a 5k in July. I don’t think I’ll do another 5k til fall, it’s too hot here!

    Oh and I’m definitely a plan person. Always. Especially when it comes to running… today I decided to not have a plan and it didn’t work out so well!

  2. May 24, 2011 11:36 PM

    Your plan looks wonderful Britt! 🙂 I think it’s a fabulous idea to do a little pre-marathon training -training 🙂

    I’m typically not one for fitness plans because I enjoy staying active and just doing what I feel like on a particular day. However, if I’m training for a race, I can definitely need to the help staying on track! 🙂

    Hope all is well! 🙂

  3. May 25, 2011 6:49 AM

    Good luck on the 5K! You’ll do amazing! I’m definitely much more of a planner too!

  4. pawsitivelife permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:10 AM

    I am soooo much a plan person its crazy. But now I have bronchitis..3 days before my 10K race….definitly NOT part of the plan

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:27 AM

    I am more of a planned person for sure but most of the time I just think that day how many miles I want to run or what I want to do. Having a 5k training plan sounds like FUN! ..I want to do one. 😉

  6. May 25, 2011 9:15 AM

    I’m definitely a plan person, especially when it comes to speed work. If I don’t have the word speed or intervals or certain paces to hit, I find it too easy to blow off speed work and just run comfortably. And how will I ever improve or get faster without pushing myself a bit?

  7. ForrestGump49er permalink
    May 25, 2011 9:48 AM

    Spontaneous person no doubt! Somedays, I decide running workout on the DRIVE home 😉
    Good luck in July 5K! Remember…pace to race!!! You’ll do great!

  8. May 25, 2011 11:17 AM

    I am much more of a plan person, it’s all about keeping me accountable!

  9. May 25, 2011 6:08 PM

    Plans are good! Don’t feel silly! I think your plan looks good, train hard!

  10. May 26, 2011 9:36 AM

    woooooo! you go girl….I’m TOTALLY a plan person. I’m sure you can relate haha

Trackbacks

  1. Workout Wednesday: Track Speed Intervals « Fit Chick Britt
  2. Summertime and the Running is Easy « Fit Chick Britt
  3. The Procrastinators 5k « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

